Champions Mary I to renew rivalries with IT Carlow as the draws are made for Fitzgibbon and Sigerson Cups.

Fitzgibbon Cup holders Mary Immaculate College have been drawn to face Carlow IT once again, as they begin their quest to claim three titles in a row, with NUIG and Trinity College making up the rest of Group D.

LIT will face DCU and the Garda College in Group C while new manager Gary Kirby will see his UL side up against DIT and WIT in Group B.

7 December 2017; Lorcan Lyons of University of Limerick in attendance at the Electric Ireland Higher Education GAA Senior Championships Launch and Draw at Croke Park in Dublin. Photo by Seb Daly/Sportsfile

There are three groups of three, with one group of four. The top two sides in each group progress to the quarter-finals.

In the Sigerson Cup UL take on CIT in the first round of the straight knock-out based competition. The Limerick college will be looking to bulild on their semi-final finish last year.

Defending champions St Mary’s College will take on UUJ in the opening round.

Garda/Athlone v UCC, NUIG v IT Sligo, Queens v IT Tralee, DIT v IT Carlow, St Mary’s v University Ulster, UL v CIT, Maynooth University v UCD, DKIT/Trinity College v DCU Dochas Eireann.