It is the first time Ireland will face the Aussies in a Three Test series format.

The Irish Rugby team will make the trip down under during the summer to take on Australia in a three test series for the first time ever.

President Michael D Higgins announced the fixtures whilst on his state visit. Brisbane, Sydney and Melbourne will be the three venues where Joe Schmidt’s side will travel to to take on the Wallabies.

The last time the sides met was November 2016 during the Autumn internationals when Ireland came out on top on a 27-24 scoreline at the Aviva.

“The rivalry between the two nations has grown enormously in recent years with some memorable encounters,” said Australian Rugby Union (ARU) CEO Bill Pulver.

“With a huge number of Irish expats living in Australia, Ireland will enjoy strong support when they are here for matches in Brisbane, Melbourne and Sydney.”

“The IRFU are delighted to tour Australia in June 2018,” added IRFU CEO Philip Browne.

“Games involving Ireland and Australia are always great occasions and this is will be an exciting tour. The Irish diaspora are renowned for supporting the Irish team when they visit their new homes so we know there will be a party atmosphere to match the world class rugby.”