Premier U21 title up for grabs

Kilmallock meet Doon in the Limerick U21 Premier Hurling final tonight at 8pm in the Gaelic Grounds, in a game that will be streamed live by Sporting Limerick. For the first time since 2012 there will be new champions as Doon ended Na Piarsaigh’s quest for seven in a row last month.

This will be Doon’s fourth final appearance in a row having lost the previous three against Na Piarsaigh. Doon’s last victory at this grade came in 2005.

The last team to win the title other than the Caherdavin side were Kilmallock who defeated Na Piarsaigh in 2011 and the Balbec can call upon two of John Kiely’s senior Limerick squad in Oisin O’Reilly and Paddy O’Loughlin. Indeed Kilmallock and Na Piarsaigh have won every title since Doon’s victory in ’05.

Doon reached the semi finals of the competiton with four wins from four in the group stage, disposing of Ahane, Garrispillane, Murroe-Boher and Monaleen. They defeated the holders Na Piarsaigh on a scoreline of 4-12 to 2-15 in a replay three weeks ago.

Kilmallock have a 100% record thus far in the competition defeating Adare, Na Piarsaigh, Mungret and Patrickswell in the group stages before a 2-18 to 0-13 victory over Ahane in the semi-finals.

Both sides had players contribute to the impressive Limerick U21 victory on Monday night against Clare. For Kilmallock O’Reilly and O’Loughlin started the game while Micheal Houlihan was introduced late on. Doon’s Barry Murphy, who is also a member of John Kiely’s senior squad scored 0-5 while Brian McPartland started corner back for Pat Donnelly’s side.

This game is being streamed live from Sporting Limerick’s YouTube channel from 8pm on Wednesday evening for anyone who can’t attend.