Kilmallock claim 8th U21 title in style

Kilmallock were too strong for Doon in the Gaelic Grounds last night in securing their first Premier U21 hurling crown since 2011, winning out 1-19 to 1-13.

The sides were evenly matched in the opening exchanges with the sides level on four occasions in the opening half an hour. However, a run of scores coupled with an Oisin O’Reilly goal saw Kilmallock hold a commanding 1-9 to 0-6 lead at the half despite playing against a slight breeze.

Doon had the opening three scores of the second period to close the gap before Kilmallock went on another scoring spree to extend the gap to 1-16 to 0-10 with David Woulfe in fine scoring form, accounting for 8 points from play during the game.

Barry Murphy had a late consolation goal for Doon who were well beaten by a fine Kilmallock side at that stage. Micheal Houlihan, a member of the U21 Limerick team, collected the trophy for Kilmallock. They, alongside Na Piarsaigh have won the last 13 titles at this grade.


Kilmallock: David Woulfe 0-8, Oisin O’Reilly 1-3, Micheal Houlihan 0-3 (2frees), Rory Connaghan and Pheliam O’Reilly 0-2 each, Ciaran O’Connor 0-1.

Doon: Barry Murphy 1-3 (0-2frees), Josh Ryan and Bob Purcell 0-3 each, Mark Coleman, Tadgh Whelan and Dubhan O’Grady 0-1 each.


Seamus Connery; Andrew Finn, Josh Cahill, Brian Daly; Fergal Chalke, Paddy O’Loughlin, Ciaran O’Connor; Cal McCarthy, Liam English; Phelim O’Reilly, Anthony Barrett, Micheal Houlihan; Rory Connaghan, David Woulfe, Oisin O’Reilly.

Sub: Jack Barry for Rory Connaghan (51mins).


Eoin Doyle, Paraic Ryan, Eoghan McNamara, Cormac Ryan; Chris Berkery, Brian McPartland, Mikey O’Brien; Tadgh Whelan, Dubhan O’Grady; Bob Purcell, Josh Ryan, Jack Ryan; Mark Coleman, Barry Murphy, Jack Downey.

Sub: Ivan O’Dwyer for Chris Berkery (h-t).