Limerick beat Kerry to book Coop Superstores final with Clare

Limerick 3-19
Kerry 1-15

In the build up to Sunday’s game with Kerry, John Kiely was looking for his side to build on the Cork victory and they did just that with a ten point win over Kerry at the Gaelic Grounds.

The win ensures a final showdown with Clare and the Munster council confirmed on Sunday evening that the final would be brought forward one week as the final round of group games would have no bearing on the final pairing.

Limerick put the game to bed in the first half with three goals courtesy of full forward Seamus Flanagan (2) and Barry Nash.

Barry Nash of Limerick in action. Munster Senior Hurling League, Limerick V Kerry at the Gaelic Grounds, Limerick on 07/01/2018. Credit: Conor Wyse

Limerick took a 3-9 to 0-2 lead into the break and looked as though they would kick on for the second half.

The second half saw Kerry come somewhat more back into the game and managed to stem the tide of Limerick scores.

However there was no denying Limerick as Aaron Gillane, Diarmaid Byrnes, Nash and Flanagan all registered pints as John Kiely’s side ran out ten point winners to book a final date wit


1. Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock) 2. Darragh Fanning (Pallasgreen) 3. Richie English (Doon) 4. Tom Condon (Knockaderry) 5. Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell) 6. Declan Hannon (Adare) 7. William O’Meara (Askeaton) 8. Paul Browne (Bruff) 9. Andrew La Touche Cosgrave (Monaleen) 10. Darragh O’Donovan (Doon) 11. Barry Nash (South Liberties) 12. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell) 13. Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell) 14. Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh-Castlemahon) 15. Barry Murphy (Doon)


1. Stephen Murphy (Causeway) 2. Dougie Fitzell (Kilmoyley) 3. Bryan Murphy (Causeway) 4. Seán Weir (Crotta O’Neills) 5. Brendan O’Leary (Abbeydorney) 6. John Buckley (Lixnaw) 7. Jason Diggins (Causeway) 8. Jack Goulding (Ballyduff) 9. Daniel Collins (Kilmoyley) 10. Brandon Barrett (Causeway) 11. Daniel O’Carroll (Ballyduff) 12. Shane Conway (Lixnaw) 13. Padraig Boyle (Ballyduff – captain) 14. Colm Harty (Causeway) 15. Jordan Conway (Crotta O’Neills)


Limerick: Barry Nash 1-5, Seamus Flanagan 2-2, Aaron Gillane 0-4 (2frees), Andrew La Touche Cosgrave, Darragh O’Donovan 0-2 each, Declan Hannon, Cian Lynch, Diarmaid Byrnes and Paddy O’Loughlin 0-1 each.

Kerry: Padraig Boyle 1-10 (1-8frees), Daniel Collins 0-2, Jordan Conway, Daniel O’Carroll and Brandon Barrett 0-1 each.

Referee: Joe Larkin (Cork)

Social Sharing