Limerick FC go through to the second round of the Irish Daily Mail FAI Cup

Limerick FC advanced to the last 16 of the FAI Cup after defeating Ulster Senior League side Cockhill Celtic 2-0 at the Charlie O’Donnell Sports Ground thanks to second half goals from Killian Brouder and Barry Maguire.

It was a tough test for the Shannonsiders who came close through a header from striker Danny Morrissey which was saved by goalkeeper Gavin Cullen. Captain Shane Duggan tried his luck from range but the ball flew just past the post.

Limerick’s debutant Jack Brady was forced to save from Mark Moran in the last chance of the half.

It was scoreless at half time but shortly after the restart, centre back Killian Brouder picked up possession and from all of 30 yards, his effort found the net for his first goal of the season.

Vice captain Billy Dennehy had the next effort for the vistors but his shot from distance was parried away by Cullen.

With 20 minutes remaining, Limerick nerves were settled as Barry Maguire added a second goal for Tommy Barrett’s men. Winger Karl O’Sullivan drove to the byline before passing to Maguire to slot home.

Substitute Conor Ellis came close to adding to the lead late on for the Super Blues.

Limerick will now join six other premier division sides in the next round of the competition. They will be looking to reach the latter stages against the odds having reached the semi final stage last season.

Attention will quickly turn to the league meeting with Sligo Rovers next Friday evening at the Markets Field.

Cockhill Celtic: Gavin Cullen, Jason Breslin, Peter Doherty, Mal McDermott, Lee McColgan (Daniel Doherty 78), Gerry Gill, Denim McLaughlin, James Bradley, Brendan McLaughlin, Mark Moran, Gerard McLaughlin (Bart Wesoloski 76). Booked: B McLaughlin (18), J Bradley (38). Unused Subs: Daniel Martin Doherty, Michael Owen Doherty, Paul McKinney, Adam McLaughlin, Jason McCallion

Limerick FC: Jack Brady, Shaun Kelly, Eoin Wearen, Killian Brouder, Billy Dennehy, Shane Duggan, Darren Murphy (Cian Coleman H/T), Barry Maguire, Will Fitzgerald, Barry Maguire (Conor Ellis 76), Colm Walsh-O’Loughlen (Karl O’Sullivan H/T), Danny Morrissey.

Unused subs: Tommy Holland, Tomas O’Connor, Adam Foley, Ger Barry

Referee: Michael Connolly

Social Sharing

Posted in

Adrian Finnin