Limerick Junior Soccer: Janesboro crowned PJ Matthews Premier League champions

Janesboro FC were presented with the PJ Matthews Premier League trophy following an 8-1 victory over Nenagh at Pearse Stadium. A hat-trick from Shane Clarke, two goals from Kevin Murphy and a goal apiece for Thomas Clarke, John Tierney and Keith Mawdsley secured the second consecutive title for the southside club.

It has been a great season locally for Shane O’Hanlon and Aidan Ryan’s men as they are now champions while reaching the Lawson Cup final on Saturday week. The southsiders have bounced back from the disappointment of losing in the Munster Junior Cup final on penalties to local rivals Pike Rovers.

When you consider that Janesboro were defeated by eventual winners North End in the FAI Cup, it has certainly been a good year for the club. They have proved that their favourites tag at the beginning of the season was richly deserved.

Despite the climax of the title race, there are still a number of fixtures to be completed in the premier league. Pike were awarded a walkover as opponents Kilmallock could not fulfil the fixture. It is the second time in four days that Pike have received a walkover.

On Sunday, Ballynanty step up their preparations for the Lawson Cup final when they face Pike Rovers. Moyross continue to fight against relegation when they face newly crowned champions Janesboro in Moyross. Unfortunately for the Northsiders, Janesboro are unlikely to afford favours as they prepare for the Lawson Cup final also. Next Tuesday (June 5), Pike are due to face Aisling Annacotty on the astroturf in Annacotty with a 6.30 pm.

Every season, the Lawson Cup final closes the curtain on the junior soccer season. This season sees Janesboro and Ballynanty Rovers contest the final at Jackman Park on Saturday June 9th with a 7pm kick-off.

Social Sharing

Posted in

Adrian Finnin