Limerick minors suffer 11 point loss to Galway in bid to reach All Ireland Semis.

Antóin Power’s Limerick minor side endured a poor second half that saw only one score from play in the course of a 1-20 to 0-12 points defeat at the hands of the current minor All Ireland Champions Galway at Semple Stadium today.

Limerick were playing today on the back of a disappointing Munster final loss to Tipperary last weekend and ran into a Galway side who were taking to the field for the first time in the championship.

In truth Galway never really let Limerick settle and a first half goal from Donal O’Shea would see them take a 1-11 to 0-6 lead into the break.

The Shannonsiders started well with a Cormac Ryan point in the second minute but Galway responded well with points from Adam Brett and Dean Reilly. Crecora’s Cathal O’Neill had a clear goal chance for Limerick but Paddy Rabbite made a fine save to snuff out the danger.

Doon’s Bob Purcell then pointed for Limerick but his effort was cancelled out quickly as Galway took control and rattled off five of the next scores. Another goal chance would come Limerick’s way but this time Rabbite would deny Colin Coughaln.

O’Shea’s goal was followed by a point before a further Dean Reilly point would see the Tribesmen take an eight point lead into the interval. Limerick would open their second half account with two Cathal O’Neill frees cutting the deficit to six points.

Galway were slow out of the blocks in the second half with Sean Neary notching their first score of the half in the 40th minute. O’Neill did respond but in truth, Galway always kept Limerick at a safe distance, well out of striking range.

O’Neill kept Limerick in touch with some fine free taking but Galway just kept adding to the scoreboard. Limerick needed a goal and the chance never came. Galway will take on Kilkenny next weekend knowing a win will see them straight through to an All Ireland semi final while Limerick will take on the cats in two weeks time.

Scorers for Galway: Donal O’Shea 1-5 (3f, 1’65), Keelan Creaven 0-3, Jason O’Donoghue 0-3, Diarmuid Kilcommins 0-2, Colm Cunningham 0-2, Dean Reilly 0-2, Adam Brett 0-1, Oisin Flannery (Padraig Pearses) 0-1, Sean Neary 0-1,

Scorers for Limerick: Cathal O’Neill 0-8 (7f), Bob Purcell 0-1, Micheál Martin 0-1, Cormac Ryan 0-1, Emmet McEvoy 0-1.

GALWAY: Paddy Rabbitte; Michael Flynn, Shane Jennings, Ian McGlynn; Shane Quirke, Sean Neary, Evan Duggan; Jason O’Donoghue, Oisin Flannery; Diarmuid Kilcommins, Adam Brett, Oisin Flannery; Keelan Creaven, Donal O’Shea, Dean Reilly Subs: Sean McDonagh for Adam Brett (49), Niall Collins for Oisin Flannery (Pearses) (49), Oisin Salmon for Dean Reilly (57), Colm Cunningham for Oisin Flannery (St Thomas) (60), Conor Flaherty for Evan Duggan (60)

LIMERICK: Bryan Heavey; Ben Herlihy, Padraig Harnett, Michael Keane; Eoin O’Mahony, Emmet McEvoy, Jack Nicholas; Patrick Kirby, Barry O’Connor; Micheal Martin, Cormac Ryan, Bob Purcell; Colin Coughlan, Cathal O’Neill, Bryan Nix Subs: Seamus Hurley for Barry O’Connor (half-time), Andrew Shanahan for Patrick Kirby (48), David Riordan for Colin Coughlan (52), Diarmuid Hegarty for Bryan Nix (55), Jimmy Quilty for Micheal Martin (63)

Referee: Sean Stack (Dublin)