Na Piarsaigh and Patrickswell advance in the Limerick SHC

Na Piarsaigh are the first side into the Limerick Senior Hurling Championship after a thrilling 2-18 to 2-14 in the Gaelic Grounds this evening.

Nap started much stronger and held a 1-8 to 0-3 point lead midway through the half. Doon rallied and a goal on the stroke of half time reduced the deficit to two at the break.

The second half was very even with Na Piarsaigh unable to pull away from the resilient Doon. A late Peter Casey goal seemed to have won the game for Nap before Darragh O’Donovan goaled from a free to bring Doon back into the game.

However the 2016 All Ireland champions held on for victory to secure their place in the final.

Meanwhile, Patrickswell booked a semi final spot against Kilmallock after a 0-17 to 0-13 win over neighbours Ballybrown in their quarter final replay.

The sides were evenly matched in the first period as they left off from last Saturday. Ballybrown were slightly on top and held a three point lead as the half closed. However, Ross Griffin received a straight red just before the half in what looked a harsh decision in real time.

To their credit, Ballybrown worked tirelessly in the second half and were leading with 20 minutes to go. But, the Well led by the ever impressive Aaron Gillane began to hit their stride with the extra man to run out four point winners.

They now face Killmallock next Sunday as the continue in their quest to retain their crown.


Social Sharing