O’Gara to be inducted into World Rugby Hall of Fame

Former Munster great Ronan O’Gara has been honoured for his glittering career by being inducted into the World Rugby Hall of Fame.

O’Gara will be Ireland’s 12th inductee and follows Basil Maclear, Brian O’Driscoll, Jack Kyle, Willie John McBride, Tony O’Reilly, Syd Millar, Mike Gibson, Ronnie Dawson, Keith Wood, Tom Kiernan and Fergus Slattery.

O’Gara won two European Cups with Munster in 2006 and 2008 and also kicked the winning drop goal in Ireland’s Grand Slam victory over Wales in 2009. He won over 120 caps for Ireland during his playing career and was part of three British and Irish Lions Tours during his career.

Since retiring in 2013, O’Gara has forged an impressive coaching career with French Top 14 side Racing 92 and was part of the coaching staff of New Zealand’s Canterbury Crusaders that won the Super Rugby competition last week.

O’Gara’s induction to the World Rugby Hall of Fame takes place at a ceremony in Rugby, England on September 12.

Social Sharing

Posted in

John Keogh