Scannell and Conway come into the side as Schmidt shuffles deck

The Ireland team to play Australia in the second test at AAMI Stadium in Melbourne on Saturday has been named.

Joe Schmidt has rang in no more than eight changes to the side that lost out in the first test.

Munster duo Andrew Conway and Niall Scannell will have the chance to impress as they come into the starting fifteen, while new Munster signing Tadhg Beirne starts on the bench.

Cian Healy is set to win his 80th cap on Saturday as he returns to the starting XV. He is named in a new look front row alongside Scannell and Tadhg Furlong.

In the second row Devin Toner starts alongside James Ryan.

Dan Leavy is the final change in the pack as he is named at openside with captain Peter O’Mahony and CJ Stander completing the back row,

Johnny Sexton comes back into the side alongside Conor Murray while Robbie Henshaw moves to first centre with Garry Ringrose starting at thirteen.

Rob Kearney is at fullback with Conway on the right wing and Keith Earls on the left.

Beirne is set to make his Ireland debut from the bench while John Cooney, who won his first cap against Japan this time last year, is also named in the replacements.

Rob Herring, Jack McGrath, Jordi Murphy, Joey Carbery and Jordan Larmour complete the lineup.

Ireland Team & Replacements (v Australia, AAMI Stadium, Melbourne, Saturday June 16, kick off 8.05pm / 11.05 am Irish time)

15. Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 84 caps
14. Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster) 6 caps
13. Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster) 13 caps
12. Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Leinster) 34 caps
11. Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 68 caps
10. Johnny Sexton (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 74 caps
9. Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 65 caps
1. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 79 caps
2. Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster) 7 caps
3. Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 24 caps
4. James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) 9 caps
5. Devin Toner > (Lansdowne/Leinster) 58 caps
6. Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 48 caps
7. Dan Leavy (UCD/Leinster) 9 caps
8. CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 24 caps

16. Rob Herring (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 4 caps
17. Jack McGrath (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 48 caps
18. Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 7 caps
19. Tadhg Beirne (Munster) uncapped
20. Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster) 21 caps
21. John Cooney (Terenure College/Ulster) 1 cap
22. Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Leinster) 11 caps
23. Jordan Larmour (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 4 caps

Social Sharing

Posted in

Luke Liddy