Shannon’s Greg O’Shea named in Ireland’s Mens squad for Exeter 7s.

The Ireland Men’s Sevens management have confirmed the 12-man squad for the Exeter 7s, the third and penultimate round of the Rugby Europe Sevens Grand Prix Series, which takes place this weekend.

Ireland have won the opening two round of the European Series, taking home the title from Moscow in May and winning the Marcoussis 7s last weekend. They are drawn in Pool A for Exeter alongside France, Italy and Sweden.

The series leaders, who are captained by Billy Dardis, will field a squad showing four changes from the Marcoussis event, with Jordan Conroy, who was last year’s Player of the Tournament in Exeter, Terry Kennedy, Alex McHenry and Jimmy O’Brien all returning to the line-up.

Shannon’s Greg O’Shea was instrumental in his sides promotion back to Division 1A this year and will be keen to make a similar impact for the national team under the sevens format.

Speaking ahead of the tournament at Sandy Park, IRFU Sevens coach Stan McDowell said: “The effort last weekend in Marcoussis was really pleasing and the group are aware that there are still areas to work on and improve.

“This weekend will present a challenge, with it being the last tournament for European teams ahead of the Sevens Rugby World Cup. We’re expecting to come up against a lot of strong sides over the course of the competition.”

The Exeter 7s matches will be live streamed on over the weekend, with live TV coverage on Sky Sports Action. Click here to buy Exeter 7s tickets. The final round of the Rugby Europe Sevens Grand Prix Series takes place in Lodz, Poland on September 8-9.

The Ireland Men’s and Women’s Sevens teams will both compete at the Rugby World Cup Sevens in San Francisco over the weekend of July 20-22 at AT&T Park. RWC Sevens tickets are available here.

IRELAND MEN’S SEVENS Squad (2018 Rugby Europe Sevens Grand Prix Series – Round 3, Sandy Park, Exeter, Saturday, July 7-Sunday, July 8):

Robert Baloucoune (Enniskillen/Ulster)
Jordan Conroy (Buccaneers)
Shane Daly (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Billy Dardis (UCD) (capt)
Foster Horan (Lansdowne)
Hugo Keenan (UCD/Leinster)

Terry Kennedy (St. Mary’s College)
Alex McHenry (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Harry McNulty (UCD)
Jimmy O’Brien (UCD/Leinster)
John O’Donnell (Lansdowne)
Greg O’Shea (Shannon)


Saturday, July 7 –

Pool A:

Ireland v Sweden, Sandy Park, Exeter, 11.30am
Ireland v Italy, Sandy Park, Exeter, 2.15pm
Ireland v France, Sandy Park, Exeter, 5pm