14-Man Limerick hold off Waterford to kick start Munster defence with crucial win

Limerick had wides from Diarmaid Byrnes and Tom Morrissey late on but time was against the Deise with Limerick holding on for a memorable victory.

Limerick kicked off their 2023 Munster Senior Hurling Championship campaign with a 1-18 to 0-19 win over Waterford in an instant classic.

Down to 14-men following Gearoid Hegarty’s 46th minute red card, Limerick held out the Waterford avalanche to seal a vital two points to begin the defence of their title.

Seamus Flanagan’s 23rd minute goal proving decisive in the end with Billy Nolan in inspired form in the Deise goal.

23 April 2023; William O’Donoghue of Limerick in action against Tom Barron of Waterford during the Munster GAA Hurling Senior Championship Round 1 match between Waterford and Limerick at FBD Semple Stadium in Thurles, Tipperary. Photo by Stephen McCarthy/Sportsfile

Limerick were lightning quick off the mark, Aaron Gillane firing over from the sideline, although Hawk Eye was a little slow in rewarding the effort. Tom Morrissey doubled their advantage before Stephen Bennett had Waterford’s first.

The Deise’s early puckout strategy worked against them as they afforded Gearoid Hegarty a gift to leave Limerick 0-4 to 0-1 ahead inside seven minutes. Peter Casey added to that shortly after.

Morrissey had a point ruled out by Hawk Eye and then Limerick lost captain Declan Hannon to injury. Mike Casey replaced the Adare man with Dessie Hutchinson getting Waterford’s second.

Diarmaid Byrnes kicked off his 2023 scoring with a long range effort as Casey added his second. Seamus Flanagan struck for his customary over the shoulder effort and then put huge daylight between the teams, dovetailing for a beautiful goal that made it 1-8 to 0-3.

Bennett replied with a pair of frees, their first back-to-back scores but Hegarty stemmed their momentum as Nolan rebounded his goalbound effort over.

But another pair of frees came from the Ballysaggart man to allow Waterford within five. Successive frees from Gillane and Byrnes cancelled those out but a raft of yellows followed, Gearoid Hegarty first going in the book before Barry Nash. Kyle Hayes and Mikey Kiely then received yellows with the Kildimo Pallaskenry man consistently pulled to the ground by his opponent.

With the tension rising, Waterford responded the better and finished the half with three unanswered to leave just four between the sides at the interval.

On the resumption, Waterford began where they left off, hitting over three on the spin to move within one of the defending champions, Bennett firing over a pair of frees either side of a Dessie score. That was six in a row eithe side of the half for Waterford with Gillane stemming the tide over a free.

Gillane then saw his penalty saved by Nolan at full stretch with Hegarty then seeing red, a second yellow for a heavy hit on Neil Montgomery. On first glance, it looked a fair shoulder but the impact saw Liam Gordon issue the red.

But two Waterford wides followed Morrissey next on target for his third. Barry Nash then got in on the act with a fine effort before Gillane knocked over his fifth from the opposite sideline. The Patrickswell moved Limerick six clear with a free after Bennett was inaccurate with an elementary free.

Three quickfire replies from the Deise halved the deficit with five to play. Gillane hit back with his seventh but Conor Gleeson had the response sauntering up the field using the Deise’s man advantage.

Gillane was then denied again by Nolan, with the Waterford netminder twice blocking the Limerick attacker but Byrnes cleaned up for his first from play.

Bennett hit back for the Deise, with Austin Gleeson making it a two-point game as the clock ticked into the fifth minute of seven of injury time. Kyle Hayes needed all of his pace to stop Gleeson from racing in on goal from the next attack as the Waterford attack petered out.

Limerick had wides from Byrnes and Morrissey but time was against the Deise with Limerick holding on.

Scorers for Limerick: Aaron Gillane (0-7, 5 frees), Seamus Flanagan (1-1), Diarmaid Byrnes (0-3, 2 frees), Tom Morrissey, Gearoid Hegarty, Peter Casey (0-2), Barry Nash (0-1)

Scorers for Waterford: Stephen Bennett (0-12, 10frees), Dessie Hutchinson (0-3) , Jamie Barron, Austin Gleeson, Patrick Fitzgerald, Conor Gleeson (0-1)

LIMERICK: Nickie Quiad; Sean Finn, Dan Morrissey, Barry Nash; Diarmaid Byrnes, Declan Hannon, Kyle Hayes; Darragh O’Donovan, William O’Donoghue, Gearoid Hegarty, Cian Lynch, Tom Morrissey; Aaron Gillane, Seamus Flanagan, Peter Casey.

Subs Used: Mike Casey for Hannon (14), Cathal O’Neill for Flanagan (60), David Reidy for O’Donoghue (68) Conor Boylan for Casey (74)

GAA coverage on Sporting Limerick is brought to you in association with Noels Menswear, shop online here or visit in Dooradoyle, Limerick City or Newcastle West.

Social Sharing

Posted in

Ladies Senior and Intermediate championships down to the semi-final stage

Ballylanders await St Ailbe's in the first semi-final, while Oola will take on Monagea for a spot in ...
Read More

South Liberties’ goal rush secures safety as Garryspillane fall to relegation

Barry Nash and Tom Ryan both bagged a double with Anthony Nash rounding out his club career with ...
Read More

Games of years gone by recounted in new a book about Limerick’s greatest hurlers 

The book leads the reader through 30 games from the point of view of former and current Limerick ...
Read More

Four final round games to be streamed live by Limerick GAA TV

The senior championship promotion decider between neighbours Mungret St Pauls and Ballybrown will be streamed live from Clauaghaun. ...
Read More

Final knockout places up for grabs in Senior, Intermediate and Junior Hurling Ranks | Final Round Fixtures

There are games to be played across all four of Limerick hurling's top tiers this weekend, with knockout ...
Read More

St Senans secure big win to top Intermediate group with Mungret St Pauls also into semis | IFC, PJAFC & JAFC Round Up

There were a number of games played over the weekend across the second, third and fourth tiers of ...
Read More

WATCH | Limerick Masters outlast Armagh to secure Spirit Cup Title after extra-time

Goals from John Doyle and Michael O'Donoghue helped deliver a first title for the Limerick Masters over the ...
Read More

Down to the final six in the Limerick SFC with quarter-final pairings confirmed

Five of last year's final six remain in the hunt for the title, promoted Na Piarsaigh replacing St ...
Read More