6 Munster Women in Irish Six Nations Squad to face England

The Ireland Women’s Team to face England in the 2020 Women’s Six Nations has been named.

Munster’s Eimear Considine, Aoife Doyle, Claire Keohane and Captain Ciara Griffin have all been named in the starting line-up, including Mallow native Anna Caplice.

Dorothy Wall, Nicole Cronin and former Munster prop Leah Lyons are among the replacements.

Adam Griggs has made two changes to the opening side that overcame wales 31-12 in the last outing of the tournament.

Doyle starts on the wing, replacing Beibhinn Parsons, who is taking time away from rugby to concentrate on her Leaving Cert preparation, while Katie Fitzhenry, who makes her first appearance of the tournament, is named in the centre.

Speaking ahead of the game, Head Coach Adam Griggs said “We are really looking forward to traveling over to Doncaster for this match. We have had a solid start to the tournament with two wins and are happy with the step up in our performance from week to week so far.

England are the defending champions and are coming into this game unbeaten too so It’s going to be a real challenge, However we intend to focus on what we can control within our own game and believe if we get our systems right that we should be able to really put them under pressure.

We have no intention of giving them anything easy and are relishing the opportunity to test ourselves against one of the best in the world.”

Ireland will travel to Doncaster for their first away game of this year’s Women’s Six Nations.

This game will be broadcast on RTE 2 with coverage starting from 12.30pm

Ireland Women Team & Replacements (v England, Women’s Six Nations Championship 2020, Castle Park, Doncaster, Sunday, 23rd February, kick-off 12.45pm) (Caps in Brackets)

15 – Eimear Considine (UL Bohemian/ Munster) (14)
14 – Lauren Delany (Firwood Waterloo/ IQ Rugby) (10)
13 – Sene Naoupu (Old Belvedere/ Leinster) (36)
12 – Katie Fitzhenry (Blackrock/ Leinster) (12)
11 – Aoife Doyle (Railway Union/ Munster) (5)    
10 – Claire Keohane (Railway Union/ Munster) (2)        
9 – Kathryn Dane (Old Belvedere/ Ulster) (8)    
1 – Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/ Leinster) (29) 
2 – Cliodhna Moloney (Wasps/ IQ Rugby) (21)
3 – Linda Djougang (Old Belvedere/ Leinster) (7)            
4 – Aoife McDermott (Railway Union/ Leinster) (12)        
5 – Judy Bobbett (Blackrock/ Leinster) (2)         
6 – Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemian/ Munster) (31) Capt.
7 – Edel McMahon (Wasps/ Connacht / IQ Rugby) (8) 
8 – Anna Caplice (Harlequins/ IQ Rugby) (13)    
16 – Victoria Dabanovich O’Mahony (Old Belvedere/ Leinster) (2)        
17 – Laura Feely (Galwegians/ Connacht) (14)    
18 – Leah Lyons (Harlequins/ IQ Rugby) (23)
19 – Ciara Cooney (Railway Union/ Leinster) (19)
20 – Dorothy Wall (Railway Union/ Munster) (2)         
21 – Nicole Cronin (UL Bohemian / Munster) (15)
22 – Larissa Muldoon (Railway Union/ Leinster) (46)         
23 – Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere RFC/ Leinster) (15)

Social Sharing

Posted in

Pre-Match Pointers: Munster Vs Leinster

TODAY is the day. Today is the day that Ireland's two heavyweights come head-to-head fully-stacked and fully-loaded. Today ...
Read More

TEAM: 150th cap for CJ as Johann van Graan names Munster side for huge Leinster clash

The Munster team to face Leinster has been named by Head Coach Johann van Graan ahead of Saturday’s ...
Read More

De Allende Encouraged By Munster’s Progress Since Last Leinster Encounter

Damian De Allende's performances for Munster to date have suggested that the World Cup winning Springbok has settled ...
Read More

Tom Savage: Leinster will be a big challenge but this Munster team can beat them

“Right now, this is my rival, this is the person that beat me. So it immediately makes him ...
Read More

Johann van Graan “I’m Glad That In The Ulster Game They Used Some Of Our Tactics”

Johann Van Graan has "big dreams for the season" and isn't a man to shy away from wearing ...
Read More

Andrew Brace Confirmed As Referee For Munster Vs Leinster Interpro

Old Crescent clubman Andrew Brace will be the man in the middle for Munster's interpro derby clash against ...
Read More

David Kilcoyne Returns To Full Training To Boost Munster

Munster Rugby have confirmed that Limerick prop David Kilcoyne and backrower Jack O'Donoghue have both returned to full ...
Read More

Jack Crowley And The Future Of The Munster Ten Shirt

"He was confident and positive without being arrogant. I liked his judgement values. I have watched him develop ...
Read More