Andy Farrell’s Irish side to face the Maori All-Blacks

Ireland Head Coach Andy Farrell has announced the Ireland side that will play against the Māori All Blacks

There are starts for the uncapped Jeremy Loughman, Craig Casey, Gavin Coombes and Keith Earls with Joey Carbery, Conor Murray and Niall Scannell among the replacements.

Bundee Aki will captain the team as the two sides face off for the first time since 2010. Bundee returns to Hamilton, the home of the Chiefs, the team he won a Super Rugby title with in 2013.

25 June 2022; Craig Casey speaks to the media after Ireland rugby squad training at North Harbour Stadium in Auckland, New Zealand. Photo by Brendan Moran/Sportsfile

The backline features Craig Casey and Ciaran Frawley at half-back, Bundee is joined in the centre by James Hume while the back three sees Jordan Larmour and Keith Earls on the wings with Jimmy O’Brien at fullback.

Jeremy Loughman, Dave Heffernan and Tom Toole make up the front row with Kieran Treadwell and Joe McCarthy at lock. Cian Prendergast, Nick Timoney and Gavin Coombes are named in the backrow.

The replacements are Niall Scannell, Cian Healy, Finlay Bealham, Ryan Baird, Jack Conan, Conor Murray, Joey Carbery and Michael Lowry.

The game will be broadcast live on Sky Sports and RTÉ Radio.

Māori All Blacks v IRELAND

15 Jimmy O’Brien (Leinster/Naas) uncapped

14 Jordan Larmour (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 30 caps

13 James Hume (Ulster/Banbridge) 3 caps

12 Bundee Aki (Connacht/Galwegians) 37 caps captain

11 Keith Earls (Munster/Young Munster) 96 caps

10 Ciaran Frawley (Leinster/Skerries) uncapped

9 Craig Casey (Munster/Shannon) 5 caps

1 Jeremy Loughman (Munster/Garryowen) uncapped

2 Dave Heffernan (Connacht/Buccaneers) 6 caps

3 Tom O’Toole (Ulster/Ballynahinch) 2 caps

4 Kieran Treadwell (Ulster/Ballymena) 5 caps

5 Joe McCarthy (Leinster/Dublin University) uncapped

6 Cian Prendergast (Connacht) uncapped

7 Nick Timoney (Ulster/Banbridge) 2 caps

8 Gavin Coombes (Munster/Young Munster) 2 caps


16 Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster) 20 caps

17 Cian Healy (Leinster/Clontarf) 116 caps

18 Finlay Bealham (Connacht/Buccaneers) 23 caps

19 Ryan Baird (Leinster/Dublin University) 8 caps

20 Jack Conan (Leinster/Old Belvedere) 27 caps

21 Conor Murray (Munster/Garryowen) 96 caps

22 Joey Carbery (Munster/Clontarf) 32 caps

23 Michael Lowry (Ulster/Banbridge) 1 cap

Social Sharing

Posted in

“It’s something I always had in the back of my mind” | Mike Prendergast on returning home as Munster coach

The Limerick man returned to the province this summer from Top 14 side Racing 92, where he held ...
Read More

Limerick clubs learn opponents for Bank Of Ireland Munster Senior Challenge Cup

The draw has been made for the 2022/23 Bank of Ireland Munster Senior Challenge Cup with 16 teams ...
Read More

“There’s a lot of trust between all of us already” | New Munster forwards coach Andi Kyriacou settling in well to new role

Kyriacou represented Munster in the 2006/07 season on loan from Saracens. Newly-appointed Munster forwards coach Andi Kyriacou has ...
Read More

“Very enjoyable so far” | Denis Leamy enjoying return to Munster as Defence Coach

Leamy will return to the province, whom he represented for eleven years, as a coach this season. Shortly ...
Read More

Munster to kick off URC season with Friday night clash in Cardiff as fixtures confirmed

Full fixture details have been confirmed for all 18 of Munster’s 2022/23 United Rugby Championship fixtures. The campaign ...
Read More

Ukrainian Integration Fund to benefit from annual Kilkee Beach rugby match

The Limerick Leprechauns are celebrating 30 years of continuous charitable events. Limerick Leprechauns RFC will be hosting their ...
Read More

Getting to know Graham Rowntree’s new-look Coaching Team at Munster

Munster are under new management for the 2022/23 season which kicks off next month. After months of speculation, ...
Read More

Andy Farrell extends Ireland stay to 2025

Farrell recently led Ireland to a first ever series win in New Zealand. Ireland Men’s Head Coach, Andy Farrell, ...
Read More