Caherline crowned Junior A Hurling champions after 14-year wait

Caherline will ply their trade in the Intermediate ranks in 2022 after beating St Kierans in the Junior A decider in Kilmallock.

Caherline were crowned Junior A Hurling Champions for the first time since 2007 after outlasting St Kierans 1-13 to 0-10 in the final.

A brilliant third quarter turned the tide for the blue side who now look forward to the Munster club championship.

Paraic Wixted opened the scoring right from the throw in before Ian Mackessey levelled with a free. Andrew Brennan then got off the mark, his first of ten, to restore Caherline’s lead.

Brennan and Mackessey exchanged scores but soon Caherline were 0-5 to 0-2 to the good.

But a pair of Mackassey frees had just one between the sides at the first waterbreak.

Mackessey levelled and Kierans had their first lead of the day after 30 minutes, with Mackessey’s placed ball giving them a slender 0-7 to 0-6 lead at the half.

Brennan levelled for the East side but Johnny McCarthy pulled Kierans ahead shortly after. But Brennan soon began to dominate the puck out battle and a brace from the centre forward gave Caherline the lead, which they would not concede for the remainder of the contest.

He followed up with two more, one a monster free from inside his own 65′ before Wixted added a second to give them a 0-12 to 0-8 lead heading into the final quarter.

Kierans brought it back to three but again Brennan replied with another free from inside his own 65′. Mackassey brought it back to a one score game but then Jack Enright flicked the sliotar into the Kierans net to seal the win.

Social Sharing

Posted in

Three from three as Limerick ease beyond Dublin at Croke Park

Dublin 1-18Limerick 3-30 By Tom Clancy in Croke Park LimerickIt maintains extends Limerick’s winning streak to 10 at ...
Read More

Quaid, Hayes and O’Donoghue all start as Limerick team named for Dublin showdown

O'Donoghue captains the side, the Na Piarsaigh man rekindling his relationship with Darragh O'Donovan in the middle of ...
Read More

Limerick fall to Sligo in Allianz Football League clash

Sligo headed in at the interval with a five point lead, which they would also hold when the ...
Read More

Limerick footballers unchanged for Sligo Allianz League visit

It means Newcastlewest man Iain Corbett captains the side once more, with a number of positional switches being ...
Read More

Mary Immaculate deny University of Limerick to reclaim Fitzgibbon crown

Mary Immaculate College 2-14University of Limerick 1-15 Mary Immaculate College claimed a third-ever Fitzgibbon Cup, at the expense ...
Read More

“We will be disappointed” | John Kiely speaks following tense Westmeath victory

It was a tense affair in TEG Cusack Park, with Westmeath arguably outworking the Shannonsiders, to the dismay ...
Read More

Ó Dálaigh goal key as sluggish Limerick get over Westmeath in hurling league

Westmeath 0-16Limerick 1-19By Tom Clancy in TEG Cusack ParkLimerick made it back-to-back victories, defeating Westmeath by six points ...
Read More

Youthful Limerick put on dominant Antrim display to kick off Allianz League

Dan Morrissey, Diarmaid Byrnes and Gearóid Hegarty all started in what was a youthful Limerick side, with David ...
Read More