Champions Limerick dominate All-Star nominations with twelve

Limerick dominate the selection once more after breaking the record  last year.

Once more, All-Ireland champions Limerick have the most nominations for PwC All-Stars as the 45-man shortlist was released this morning. 

John Kiely’s men have twelve chosen with Barry Nash and Diarmaid Byrnes also in the running for the Hurler of the Year award. 

Last year, Limerick smashed the record for most All-Stars when they had 12 selected to the team. Eleven of those are nominated once more.

From the All-Ireland winning XV, two time All-Star Dan Morrissey misses out on nomination as do one time recipients Darragh O’Donovan and Graeme Mulcahy.

In goal, Nickie Quid is up against Eoin Murphy and Eanna Murphy as he bids for a second award.

Sean Finn is included and is aiming for five All-Stars on the trot. Nash won his first award last year and is among the three shortlisted for HOTY. 

Byrnes is also in the running for the award and is the favourite as he also looks for three All-Stars in a row. Declan Hannon is in the running for a second successive award and third overall.

17 July 2022; Declan Hannon, left, and Cian Lynch of Limerick lift the Liam MacCarthy Cup after the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Senior Championship Final match between Kilkenny and Limerick at Croke Park in Dublin. Photo by Stephen McCarthy/Sportsfile

William O’Donoghue is Limerick’s sole representative in midfield after winning a maiden award in 2021.

In the forwards, Gearoid Hegarty, Tom Morrissey and Kyle Hayes are all bidding for a third successive award. Aaron Gillane is also in contention for a third All-Star after missing out last year while Seamus Flanagan won his first in 2021.

17 July 2022; William O’Donoghue, left, and Gearóid Hegarty of Limerick celebrate after the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Senior Championship Final match between Kilkenny and Limerick at Croke Park in Dublin. Photo by Ramsey Cardy/Sportsfile

All-Ireland runners up Kilkenny have eight nominations, as do Clare and Galway. Cork have three, Wexford have a pair nominated while there is one each for Dublin, Waterford, Westmeath and Tipperary.

The PwC All-Stars will be presented in Dublin’s Convention Centre on Friday, October 28 shown live on RTE tv. The hurling team will be announced live on the night with the football team being released publicly 24 hours earlier.

PwC All-Stars Hurling Nominations 2022


Éanna Murphy (Galway)

Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny)

Nickie Quaid (Limerick)


Seán Finn (Limerick)

Barry Nash (Limerick)

Mike Casey (Limerick)

Diarmaid Byrnes (Limerick)

Declan Hannon (Limerick)

Mikey Butler (Kilkenny)

Huw Lawlor (Kilkenny)

Richie Reid (Kilkenny)

Paddy Deegan (Kilkenny)

Paul Flanagan (Clare)

John Conlon (Clare)

Diarmuid Ryan (Clare)

David McInerney (Clare)

Daithí Burke (Galway)

Fintan Burke (Galway)

Pádraic Mannion (Galway)

Ciarán Joyce (Cork)

Damien Reck (Wexford)


David Fitzgerald Clare)

Ryan Taylor (Clare)

Tom Monaghan (Galway)

Darragh Fitzgibbon (Cork)

William O’Donoghue (Limerick)

Adrian Mullen (Kilkenny)


Gearóid Hegarty (Limerick)

Kyle Hayes (Limerick)

Tom Morrissey (Limerick)

Aaron Gillane (Limerick)

Séamus Flanagan (Limerick)

TJ Reid (Kilkenny)

Eoin Cody (Kilkenny)

Conor Whelan (Galway)

Cathal Mannion (Galway)

Joseph Cooney (Galway)

Tony Kelly (Clare)

Shane O’Donnell (Clare)

Robbie O’Flynn (Cork)

Dessie Hutchinson (Waterford)

Noel McGrath (Tipperary)

Lee Chin (Wexford)

Dónal Burke (Dublin)

Killian Doyle (Westmeath)

PwC GAA/GPA Hurler of the Year Nominees

TJ Reid (Kilkenny)

Diarmaid Byrnes (Limerick)

Barry Nash (Limerick)

PwC GAA/GPA Young Hurler of the Year Nominees

Ciarán Joyce (Cork)

Mikey Butler (Kilkenny)

Eoin Cody (Kilkenny)

Social Sharing

Posted in

ODDS | Newcastle West favourites to retain their SFC crown as six remain in the hunt

Jimmy Lee's side won all five games in group one after their final day victory over Fr Caseys. ...
Read More

Catriona Davis hails “extra-special” Ladies SFC triumph as Monagea retain crown

It was the first time in their history that Monagea retained the Ladies Senior Football Championship title. Monagea ...
Read More

Quarter-Final fixtures confirmed for Limerick Senior, Intermediate & Junior Football Championships

The group stages of the championships came to an end over the weekend with the the knockout stages ...
Read More

SFC Round Up | Newcastle West and Adare confirm semi-final spots as group stage concludes

The final six in the Limerick Senior Football Championship is set after the concluding round of the group ...
Read More

Monagea retain Limerick Ladies Senior Football title against St Ailbes

The girls from the West retained their title for the first time in their history after a tense ...
Read More

PREVIEW | Limerick Ladies SFC Title on the line as St Ailbes and Monagea face off once more

The undefeated teams meet in a titanic Limerick Ladies SFC Final this weekend. Familiar faces do battle in ...
Read More

Friday Quiz | Can you name the Last 16 Limerick SHC quarter-finalists?

There are sixteen teams to get in today's quiz related to the Limerick Senior Hurling Championship. After an ...
Read More

Team of the Championship | Limerick SHC Group Stages

The Limerick Senior Hurling Championships came to a close over the weekend with six teams still in the ...
Read More