Cronin goal proves crucial as Limerick defeat Tipperary in Munster Minor football

Limerick 2-9
Tipperary 1-9
By Tom Clancy at LIT Gaelic Grounds

Limerick advanced to the Munster Minor football championship semi-final following a three point victory over neighbours Tipperary. Kevin Denihan’s side face Clare on July 30th, in Ennis. Once Limerick led in the 13th minute, Tipperary were unable to peg them back, though a second half green flag from Ruairi Cronin proved crucial at the final whistle.

Limerick led 1-4 to 1-1 at the first half water-break with Fr. Casey’s star Marc Nolan netting after an earlier goal from Tipperary’s Diarmuid O’Riordan. Limerick responded well to every visiting score throughout and this ensured they kept their nose in front.

At the short whistle, Limerick led by four points, with Jack Somers effort closing the half. Tipperary were extremely wasteful in front of goal.

12 December 2020; Darragh Murray of Limerick in action against Oscar Geoghegan of Waterford during the Electric Ireland Munster GAA Football Minor Championship Quarter-Final match between Limerick and Waterford at LIT Gaelic Grounds in Limerick. Photo by Matt Browne/Sportsfile

The Premier County started the second stanza with a purpose, and after cutting the gap to just two points, Cronin finished low beyond Tom Bourke for the games crucial score.  This had Limerick five clear at the water break and despite just scoring once down the stretch, the Treaty had enough. The 59th minute free from Darragh Murray was pivotal, as it kept Limerick two scores clear and they held on.

Limerick were victors over Waterford in 2020 before falling to a heavy defeat to Clare in the Munster semi-final. Elsewhere on Thursday, Waterford suffered a heavy defeat to Cork, who advance to face Kerry in the other semi-final.

Scorers – Limerick: Darragh Murray 0-4 (3f), Conall Ó’Duinn 0-3 (1f), Marc Nolan, Ruari Cronin 1-0, Jack Somers 0-2.

Limerick: Craig MacInnes (St Kierans); Michael Kilbridge (Fr. Casey’s), Jamie Behan (Ballybrown), Darragh Clifford (Monaleen); Lorcan Murphy (St. Kierans), Aaron Neville (Fr. Casey’s), Stephen Kiely (Monaleen); Jack Somers (Mungret St. Paul’s), Darragh Murray © (Monaleen), Marc Nolan (Fr. Casey’s), Emmet Rigter (Newcastle West), Oisín O’Farrell (St. Senan’s), Conall O’Duinn (Monaleen), Ruairi Cronin (Fr. Casey’s), Ronan Quirke (Fr. Casey’s).
Subs: Culann Quigley (Fr. Casey’s) for Clifford (ht), Owen O’Sullivan (Galbally) for Quirke (40), Calum Boyle (Fr. Casey’s) for Kiely (47), Sean Geraghty (Newcastle West) for Ó’Duinn (53), Dylan O’Connor (Fr. Casey’s) for Nolan (61).

Social Sharing

Posted in ,

Mullins makes two changes to Limerick U-20 side for Munster Final

Limerick U-20 hurling manager Diarmuid Mullins has opted to make two switches for tomorrow nights Munster Final against ...
Read More

WATCH: Leahy masterclass sees Cork comfortably beat Limerick and reach MHC Final

Limerick's bid to reach a third Munster MHC final on the trot ended with a 10-point loss to ...
Read More

TEAMS: Limerick minor side to face Cork announced

Limerick minor manager Kevin O’Hagan has selected his match-day squad for the semi-final of the 2021 Electric Ireland ...
Read More

PREVIEW: Limerick U20 Hurlers expecting ‘big challenge’ from Cork in Munster final clash

Diarmuid Mullins' Limerick U20 team will play Cork in the 2021 Munster GAA Hurling Under 20 Championship this ...
Read More

Who will Limerick play? All-Ireland semi-final permutations

The draw for the 2021 All-Ireland senior hurling championship quarter-finals were made this morning with Limerick and Kilkenny ...
Read More

WATCH: Limerick ladies defeat to Antrim leaves work to do in All-Ireland campaign

The Limerick ladies were defeated by Antrim in round three of the TG4 All-Ireland Junior Ladies Football Championship ...
Read More

Limerick Junior Camogie side kick off championship campaign with big win over Cavan

The Limerick Junior Camogie team have all but secured a knockout spot in the All-Ireland championship after their ...
Read More

WATCH: Tipperary defeat ends Limerick’s All-Ireland Senior Camogie Championship hopes

Pat Ryan’s Limerick side fell to defeat yesterday against a highly impressive Tipperary side in Nenagh. The 2-20 ...
Read More