Derry prove too strong for Limerick in NFL opener

Derry 0-16
Limerick 0-4

By Tom Clancy in Owenbeg

Derry proved too strong for Derry in the Allianz Football League Division Two clash in Owenbeg. This was a return to the second tier for the first time since 2007 for the Treaty. They had 12 points too many for Limerick who scored two points in either half.

Limerick were handing National League debuts to Cathal Downes of Kildimo Pallaskenry and Barry Coleman from Rathkeale.

Limerick manager Ray Dempsey was able to call upon many of the players who’d gained promotion last season, but was without forwards Brian Donovan and Josh Ryan.

These sides had clashed in the 2019 and 2021 Leagues, with those in Division Four and Division Three respectfully. Both went the way of the Oak Leaf County.

Derry had won the Dr. McKenna Cup last week, further complimenting their recent rise following their Ulster title win and run to the All-Ireland semi-final last season.

Derry led 0-7 to 0-2 at half-time with Limerick having points from Adrian Enright and a free from James Naughton. Aside from that, the home side were in firm control, with four points from the boot of Shane McGuigan aiding their cause.

Manager Rory Gallagher called upon Glen duo Conor Glass and Ethan Doherty, just six days removed from their controversial All-Ireland Club final loss to Kilmacud Crokes.

Shane McGuigan was their scorer in chief, landing

Limerick had second half scores from Gordon Brown and Iain Corbett.

Scorers for Limerick:  Adrian Enright, James Naughton (free), Gordon Brown, Iain Corbett 0-1 each.

Donal O’Sullivan (J/C); David Connolly, Sean O’Dea, Barry Coleman; Brian Fanning, Cillian Fahy, Michael Donovan; Cian Sheehan, Iain Corbett (J/C); Paul Maher, James Naughton, Gordon Brown; Adrian Enright, Cathal Downes, Davy Lyons.

Subs: Robbie Bourke for Fanning (half-time), Hugh Bourke for Lyons (51), Colm McSweeney for Coleman (56), Peter Nash for Enright (64), Killian Ryan for Downes (69),

Odhran Lynch; Chrissy McKaigue, Eoin McEvoy, Conor McCluskey; Padraig McGrogan, Gareth McKinless, Conor Doherty; Conor Glass, Brendan Rogers; Niall Toner, Paul Cassidy, Ethan Doherty, Benny Heron, Shane McGuigan, Lachlan Murray.

Noel Mooney (Cavan)

Social Sharing

Posted in ,

Limerick start minor campaign with narrow Waterford win in woeful conditions

Waterford 0-7Limerick 1-7By Tom Clancy in Fraher Field Limerickopened their Electric Ireland Munster Minor Hurling Championship with a ...
Read More

“We had plenty of chances” | Mark Fitzgerald laments missed opportunities as Limerick are relegated

It was a first game in charge for Fitzgerald, with Ray Dempsey stepping down from the role just ...
Read More

Five Unsung Limerick U20s to Watch in Munster Hurling Championship

Who will be the next set of U20 players to lay down their markers as future Limerick hurling ...
Read More

Iris Kennelly selected on Ladies HEC Rising Star team for second season running

THE Yoplait HEC All-Stars and Rising Stars have been announced following the conclusion of the 2023 Championships. Limerick's ...
Read More

Diarmuid Mullins includes seven from last year’s final for Limerick’s Munster U20 Championship opener in Waterford

The squad contains eleven of the players that started in Limerick's Munster Minor Championship final win over Tipperary ...
Read More

TUS Gaelic Grounds to host Limerick’s NHL semi-final with Tipperary

Limerick secured their place in the knockout stages on Sunday with a straightforward win over Wexford with Kyle ...
Read More

PREVIEW | Limerick begin Munster Minor Hurling Championship with trip to Waterford

Limerick were last champions at the grade in 2020 with Adam English captaining the side to a second ...
Read More

Limerick duo named on the Hurling Team of the Week following Wexford win

Limerick are one of four counties with two players on the squad with Dublin, Kilkenny and Tipperary also ...
Read More