Diarmaid Byrnes named GAA.ie Hurler of the Week

The Patrickswell native was one of five Limerick players named on the GAA.ie Team of the Week following the league finale.

Limerick superstar Diarmaid Byrnes has been voted the GAA.ie Hurler of the Week after his dominant display in the 2023 League final where the Shannonsiders overcame the Cats.

The reigning Hurler of the Year received 2, 789 votes on the GAA’s Official Instagram page which put him ahead of Offaly’s Eoghan Cahill (1, 883) and Carlow’s Paddy Boland (1, 626).

Diarmaid Byrnes (Limerick)

“Byrnes drilled five points from distance, including two from play, as Limerick defeated Kilkenny in the Allianz Hurling League Division One Final at Páirc Uí Chaoimh.”

9 April 2023; Paddy Mullen of Kilkenny in action against Diarmaid Byrnes of Limerick during the Allianz Hurling League Final match between Kilkenny and Limerick at Páirc Ui Chaoimh in Cork. Photo by Eóin Noonan/Sportsfile

Byrnes has continued his exceptional 2022 form, where he collected a third successive All-Star to go with his HOTY award, after taking an extended break to start the year.

He has started in each of Limerick’s last four games, with the Treaty winning those by a combined total of 40 points as they gear up for the championship opener against Waterford on April 23.

The Patrickswell native was one of five Limerick players named on the GAA.ie Team of the Week, joining clubmate Aaron Gillane, Nickie Quaid, Barry Nash and Darragh O’Donovan.

GAA coverage on Sporting Limerick is brought to you in association with Noels Menswear, shop online here or visit in Dooradoyle, Limerick City or Newcastle West.

Social Sharing

Posted in

John Kiely’s management team confirmed for 2024

Joe O'Connor returns to the fold as High Performance Manager, joined by John Flavin who comes into the ...
Read More

Donal O’Sullivan announces intercounty retirement

The news that the Monaleen man is retiring from intercounty football will be greeted with great disappointment. Limerick ...
Read More

Lacklustre Na Piarsaigh bow out to Ballygunner

Na Piarsaigh slumped to a four point loss in their Munster Senior Club Hurling Championship semi-final, against Ballygunner ...
Read More

Aaron Gillane wins 2023 Hurler of the Year

Patrickswell sharpshooter Aaron Gillane crowned a superb 2023 for both himself and Limerick by claiming the 2023 All ...
Read More

Limerick rewarded with magnificent seven All-Star spots following remarkable four-in-a-row

The Treaty County lead the way with Kilkenny capturing five places, Clare having two and Galway's Conor Whelan ...
Read More

Newcastle West exit Munster championship after Clonmel Commercials loss

Jimmy Lee's men bowed out of the provincial championship after a seven-point loss in FBD Semple Stadium on ...
Read More

‘1973: Keeping the Dream Alive‘ officially launches at the Woodlands

Limerick's 1973 All-Ireland win has been commemorated with the release of this new book, which was launched on ...
Read More

Newcastle West clinch three-in-a-row while Mungret promoted to Senior | Football Finals Round-Up

Jimmy Lee's men won by the minimum in the TUS Gaelic Grounds, with Mungret St Paul's getting past ...
Read More