Dromin Athlacca secure PIHC title despite late Blackrock comeback | PIHC, IHC, JAHC Finals Round Up

Dromin Athlacca managed to score a late winner despite surrendering a ten-point lead to a dogged Blackrock side.

Dromin Athlacca were crowned Limerick Premier Intermediate Hurling champions over the weekend, as they defeated Blackrock by the minimum in the TUS Gaelic Grounds.

Blackrock trailed by ten points at one stage, but late goals fired the runners up back level in the dying stages.

Dromin Athlacca were able to force over one final score to swing the tie in their favour, and secure Senior hurling for 2024.

In the Intermediate championship, Granagh Ballingarry picked up a two-point win over Croagh Kilfinny to land the 2023 crown.

A spirited display saw them put up 18-points to earn promotion to next year’s Premier Intermediate championship.


The best of the drama was saved for the Junior A final, which Mungret St Paul’s won, with the tie going all the way to penalties.

Luke Ryan stepped up with a crucial point for Feenagh Kilmeedy to send the game to extra-time and the sides remained level following the added period, meaning penalties ensued.

Mungret won the shootout 4-1, adding more glory to what has been a successful year for the club at all grades.

Lyons of Limerick County Premier Intermediate Hurling Championship Final
Blackrock 3-16 : 2-20 Dromin Athlacca

Nick Grene Sports ground County Intermediate Hurling Championship Final

Croagh Kilfinny 1-13 : 0-18 Granagh Ballingarry

Woodlands House Hotel County Junior A Hurling Championship Final

Feenagh Kilmeedy 1-24 : 2-21 Mungret St Paul’s (Mungret win on penalties)

GAA coverage on Sporting Limerick is brought to you in association with Noels Menswear, shop online here or visit in Dooradoyle, Limerick City or Newcastle West.

Social Sharing

Posted in

Donal O’Sullivan announces intercounty retirement

The news that the Monaleen man is retiring from intercounty football will be greeted with great disappointment. Limerick ...
Read More

Lacklustre Na Piarsaigh bow out to Ballygunner

Na Piarsaigh slumped to a four point loss in their Munster Senior Club Hurling Championship semi-final, against Ballygunner ...
Read More

Aaron Gillane wins 2023 Hurler of the Year

Patrickswell sharpshooter Aaron Gillane crowned a superb 2023 for both himself and Limerick by claiming the 2023 All ...
Read More

Limerick rewarded with magnificent seven All-Star spots following remarkable four-in-a-row

The Treaty County lead the way with Kilkenny capturing five places, Clare having two and Galway's Conor Whelan ...
Read More

Newcastle West exit Munster championship after Clonmel Commercials loss

Jimmy Lee's men bowed out of the provincial championship after a seven-point loss in FBD Semple Stadium on ...
Read More

‘1973: Keeping the Dream Alive‘ officially launches at the Woodlands

Limerick's 1973 All-Ireland win has been commemorated with the release of this new book, which was launched on ...
Read More

Newcastle West clinch three-in-a-row while Mungret promoted to Senior | Football Finals Round-Up

Jimmy Lee's men won by the minimum in the TUS Gaelic Grounds, with Mungret St Paul's getting past ...
Read More

SFC Final Preview | Newcastle West set their sights on three-in-a-row

It is the third year in a row that the pair will contest the Senior decider, with Newcastle ...
Read More