Evan Loftus names Limerick Minor Hurling side for Munster opener with Waterford

Four of last year’s side who reached the provincial quarter-final against Waterford are named from the start for this week’s game against the same opponents.

Evan Loftus has named his Limerick Minor Hurling team to take on Waterford in the first round of the Munster Championship this Tuesday evening, live on Munster GAA TV.

Sean Morrissey (Dromin Athlacca Banogue) captains the side from corner back with throw-in at the Fraher Field at 7pm tomorrow evening.

Four of last year’s side are named from the start in John O’Keeffe, Diarmuid Lyons, Tadhg Boddy and Darren Collopy as they reached the provincial quarter-final where they were beaten by this Tuesday’s opponents.

Collopy was the top scorer for the Shannonsiders in each of their three games and he is named at corner forward for the contest. Limerick will be in home action next Tuesday when they host Clare with games against Tipp and Clare to come in the following rounds.

Watch the game live here.

Limerick Team to Face Waterford in the Munster MHC First Round

1. Joe Fitzgerald (Kildimo/Pallaskenry)

2. John O Keeffe (Na Piarsaigh)

3. Conor Bickford (Ahane)

4. Sean Morrissey (Dromin/Athlacca)(Captain)

5. Jack Cosgrove (Ahane)

6. Sean Casey (Bruff)

7. Cian Scully (Monaleen)

8. Diarmuid Lyons (Newcastle West)

9. Matthew Fitzgerald (Monaleen)

10. Robert O Farrell (Kildimo/Pallaskenry)

11. Dara Ferland (Monaleen)

12. Tádgh Boddy (Bruff)

13. Hugh Flanagan (Garryspillane)

14. Cathal Hayes (Newcastle West)

15. Darren Collopy (Murroe/Boher).

16. Conor Crowley (Mungret/St. Pauls)

17. Declan Heavey (Garryspillane)

18. Darragh Gleeson (Adare)

19. Oisín Holmes (Murroe/Boher )

20. Michael Leo (Knockainey)

21. Seán Duff (Mungret/St. Pauls)

22. Eoin Brosnan (Na Piarsaigh)

23. Cian Barrett (Kilmallock)

24. Patrick Kearney (Adare).

GAA coverage on Sporting Limerick is brought to you in association with Noels Menswear, shop online here or visit in Dooradoyle, Limerick City or Newcastle West.

Social Sharing

Posted in

Limerick Ladies Footballers discover All-Ireland Junior Championship Fixtures

Graham Shine's side will get their championship campaign underway away to Kilkenny on June 18 as they bid ...
Read More

Limerick and Clare to meet in eighth ever Munster Senior Hurling Championship Final with the Treaty dominant in past encounters

If historical Munster finals between the rivals are anything to go by, it's good news for Limerick as ...
Read More

“We don’t let any of that into our circle” | Morrissey and Byrnes on dealing with outside noise as Limerick get the Cork job done

While many may have crumbled under such pressure, Limerick stood up to the challenge they faced on Sunday ...
Read More

Limerick rise in Tailteann Cup Outright Odds ahead of final round clash

It is the first time the Shannonsiders have played in the All-Ireland competition, winning both of their games ...
Read More

Limerick to have home advantage as TUS Gaelic Grounds confirmed for Munster Final

This year's decider is a repeat of last year's final which was played in Semple Stadium in Thurles. ...
Read More

More history for Aaron Gillane as he moves into Top-15 in the All-Time Scoring Charts as Byrnes becomes record scoring defender

The Patrickswell native bagged three from play to go with a pair of frees in the win over ...
Read More

Munster Final Venue to be confirmed on Monday evening with tickets to be available later this week

It will be a repeat of last year's final where Limerick needed extra-time to see off Clare in ...
Read More

“They are buzzing to have made it through to the Munster final” | Kiely proud of his side as they get the job done against Cork

The Shannonsiders secured a one point victory over Cork in a thrilling battle at the TUS Gaelic Grounds ...
Read More