Fairview Advance in Munster Junior Cup

Fairview advanced to the second round of the Munster Junior Cup at the expense of Janesboro at Pearse Stadium on Sunday morning. Goals in each half from Daragh Rainsford (pen) and James Fitzgerald provided Jason Purcell with the win.

Fairivew started brightly and centre-back John Mullane saw a close range effort blocked on the line as the home side scrambled to clear. Arron Nunan’s strike from distance was gathered by Wall in the Fairview goal as ‘Boro responded.

The visitors were awarded a penalty when Jason Cross needlessly found himself too tight to Ross Mann and proceeded to foul the dangerous striker. Daragh Rainsford buried the penalty into the bottom corner despite the best efforts of Tommy Holland.

Holland did manage to deny his former Limerick FC teammate when Ross Mann crossed for the winger but Holland blocked the effort with his feet. Nunan cut an isolated figure against both Mark Slattery and Mullane on occasion but managed to get free on the right to curl an effort over the crossbar.

Shane O’Hanlon’s side came extremely close to an equaliser when a ferocious strike from Ger Barry from the edge of the area flew just over the bar.

Fairview dangerman Ross Mann was released down the left before teeing up Eddie Byrnes at the edge of the box but the winger blasted high and wide.

It looked as though boyhood Fairview man and current team captain Jeffrey Judge had doubled the lead but Holland superbly got down to palm away his low shot.

Moments later, Janesboro were incenced when they believed Evan Cusack was taken down in the penalty area but the referee waved away the protests. Fairview substitute James Fitzgerald did get the vital second goal for Purcell’s side with a superb half volley from 20 yards out which gave Holland no chance.

As time ran out, the Pearse Stadium outfit struggled to muster any real opportunities save for a few scrambles in the box and Holland was forced into saves from Judge and Fitzgerald as the Fairgreen side looked to put a seal on the victory.

It was a big win for the Fairgreen outfit and a disappointing result for a new look Janesboro side who have now lost the services of Tyrique Leamy to Kilfrush Crusaders.

Janesboro: Tommy Holland, Frankie Herr (Vincent Browne), Jason Cross, Lee O’Mara, Evan Lynch, Aidan Hurley, Ger Barry, Declan Cusack, Evan Cusack, Shane Stack (Adam Done), Arron Nunan

Fairview Rangers: Aaron Wall, AJ O’Connor (James Fitzgerald), Mark Slattery, John Mullane, Jamie Enright, Jeffrey Judge, Adam Frahill, Daragh Rainsford, Eddie Byrnes, Ross Mann, Jason Lipper (Robbie Kelleher)

Social Sharing

Posted in

WATCH: “You could find an ankle hanging off”- Paudie O’Connor reflects on his roots

Three years ago, Limerick FC lost one of its brightest young players to the Championship when Paudie O'Connor ...
Read More

Colbert Appointed as New Prospect Manager

Former Pike Rovers stalwart Wayne Colbert has been announced as the new manager of Prospect Priory FC. Colbert ...
Read More

LISTEN: O’Hanlon Delighted with Annacotty Appointment

New Aisling Annacotty manager Shane O'Hanlon is excited by the challenge of leading the club following his official ...
Read More

Shane O’Hanlon Takes the Reigns at Aisling Annacotty

Former Janesboro manager Shane O'Hanlon has been appointed as the new manager of Aisling Annacotty AFC. Aisling had ...
Read More

Limerick Desmond League cancels 2019/20 season with immediate effect

The 2019/2020 Limerick Desmond League Season has been cancelled. Last night the decision was made to cancel the ...
Read More

2019/2020 Limerick District League Season Officially Cancelled

Understandably, due to the current fight against the Coronavirus, the future of amateur football has not been high ...
Read More

LISTEN: Declan Casey Selects 1-11

Former Limerick FC and Pike Rovers player Declan Casey spoke to Sporting Limerick over the weekend and chose ...
Read More

FAI Reveal Return Dates for amateur and Underage Football

Following on from last week's statement, the Football Association of Ireland have announced that the cessation of all ...
Read More