First half goals see Limerick to minor football win over Clare

Limerick reignited their Munster Minor Football Championship campaign with a 2-8 to 0-9 win over Clare at Mick Neville Park in Rathkeale.

John Keane’s charges did most of the damage against a strong breeze in the first half with goals from Bobby Smith and Tommy Ryan helping them to a seven point lead at the break.

Clare had possession of the ball for large periods but were unable to break down a resolute Limerick defensive effort.

Having lost to Tipperary last week, Limerick needed a victory against the Banner to have any chance of getting out of the round robin stage and had the perfect start.

Luke Walsh popped over a point after just 13 seconds and then set up Smith for their first goal on three minutes. Stephen Young’s free then put Limerick five points to the good.

A Conor Fennell free got Clare on the board but Limerick bagged a second goal on 11 minutes when Ryan found his way through on goal and he fired low past Clare keeper Cian Howard.

Cathal Talty replied for Clare but Smith and two Young frees soon put Limerick nine points to the good – leading 2-5 to 0-2 after 20 minutes.

Clare did get back on track through a Sean McMahon free and a fine score from play by Darren Keane but it was Limerick that led by seven.

Gavin O’Shea cut Limerick’s lead to six early in the second half but a sensational Aidan O’Shea score restored the half time advantage.

Clare kept plugging away, however, Limerick always seemed in control with Diarmuid Hynes and Evan Curry seeing them to a five-point win.

Scorers – Limerick: Bobby Smith 1-1, Stephen Young 0-3 (3f), Tommy Ryan 1-0, Luke Walsh, Aidan O’Shea, Diarmuid Hynes and Evan Curry 0-1 each

Limerick: Jake Foley; Ethan Browne, Cathal Mangan, Shane O’Sullivan; Calum Boyle, Cian Harnett, Paddy Downey; Aidan O’Shea, Michael Keating; Diarmuid Hynes, Tommy Ryan, Bobby Smith; Luke Walsh, Stephen Young, Michael Kilbridge. Subs: Evan Curry for Walsh (45), Jamie Young for Boyle (55), Bailey Ryan for Ryan (57), John Fitzgerald for Keating (60).

Social Sharing

Posted in

Champions Limerick bow out to red hot Rebels

Limerick 0-29Cork 1-28By Tom Clancy at Croke ParkLimerick's most remarkable run ended after a narrow, two-point loss, after ...
Read More

TEAM: Limerick make two changes to side to face Cork

John Kiely and his backroom team have made two changes from the starting XV that faced Clare in ...
Read More

Kingston Promises Intensity from “The Minute the Ball is in Play Right to the Very End”

For Shane Kingston and his Cork teammates, the journey to this point had been anything but straightforward, marked ...
Read More

Hannon on Success & Setbacks as Limerick Look Forward to Rebel Rematch

Limerick will do battle with a familiar foe in Cork this weekend as all roads lead to Croke ...
Read More

Hegarty: ‘There is a lot more to life outside of hurling”

In association with Bord Gais Energy. With six Munster and five All Ireland medals to his name, Gearóid ...
Read More

Sligo a bridge too far for Limerick as Tailteann dream ends

Sligo 2-20Limerick 0-9By Tom Clancy in Markievicz ParkLimerick’s hopes of a trip to Croke Park were wiped away ...
Read More

WATCH | Kiely, Gillane & O’Neill react after historic Munster SHC victory

Limerick made more history when claiming a record breaking sixth Munster Senior Hurling title in a row, thanks ...
Read More

Six of the best – Limerick claim record breaking Munster title

Limerick 1-26Clare 1-20By Tom Clancy in ThurlesLimerick made more history when claiming a record breaking sixth Munster Senior ...
Read More