Five Limerick Players named on Team of the Week after League final win

Byrnes is among the nominees for the Hurler of the Week award alongside Offaly’s Eoghan Cahill and Carlow’s Paddy Boland.

Limerick have had five players chosen to the Hurling team of the week after besting Kilkenny in Sunday’s National Hurling League final.

Selected onto the team are Nickie Quaid, Barry Nash, Diarmaid Byrnes, Darragh O’Donovan and Aaron Gillane following the Pairc Ui Chaoimh victory.

Byrnes is among the nominees for the Hurler of the Week award alongside Offaly’s Eoghan Cahill and Carlow’s Paddy Boland. You can vote here.

9 April 2023; Limerick players celebrate with the cup after the Allianz Hurling League Final match between Kilkenny and Limerick at Páirc Ui Chaoimh in Cork. Photo by Eóin Noonan/Sportsfile

Quaid continued his fine form in between the sticks, keeping a third successive clean sheet in winning his third League title. He is named on the team for the second game running and is joined in that regard by Nash who chipped in with 1-1 from corner back. The South Liberties man is named on the team for the third time this season.

Byrnes was Limerick’s second top scorer with 0-5, two of those coming from play in another all-action display from the reigning Hurler of the Year. O’Donovan is named at midfield and was the TG4 man of the match on his return to action as he clipped over a brace.

Gillane completes the Limerick contingent at top of the right as he capped off a fine display with a first time goal to take his tally to 1-7.

Kerry are the next best represented with three after they kicked off their Joe McDonagh campaign with a win. Offaly also got off to a winning start and have three themselves with Carlow adding a pair. Kilkenny have two following the defeat to Limerick. Hurling Team of the Week

  1. Nickie Quaid (Limerick)
  2. Ben Connelly (Offaly)
  3. Eric Leen (Kerry)
  4. Barry Nash (Limerick)
  5. Diarmaid Byrnes (Limerick)
  6. Darragh Shanahan (Kerry)
  7. Richie Reid (Kilkenny)
  8. James Doyle (Carlow)
  9. Darragh O’Donovan (Limerick)
  10. Cillian Kiely (Offaly)
  11. Adrian Mullen (Kilkenny)
  12. Shane Conway (Kerry)
  13. Aaron Gillane (Limerick)
  14. Paddy Boland (Carlow)
  15. Eoghan Cahill (Offaly)

Social Sharing

Posted in

John Kiely’s management team confirmed for 2024

Joe O'Connor returns to the fold as High Performance Manager, joined by John Flavin who comes into the ...
Read More

Donal O’Sullivan announces intercounty retirement

The news that the Monaleen man is retiring from intercounty football will be greeted with great disappointment. Limerick ...
Read More

Lacklustre Na Piarsaigh bow out to Ballygunner

Na Piarsaigh slumped to a four point loss in their Munster Senior Club Hurling Championship semi-final, against Ballygunner ...
Read More

Aaron Gillane wins 2023 Hurler of the Year

Patrickswell sharpshooter Aaron Gillane crowned a superb 2023 for both himself and Limerick by claiming the 2023 All ...
Read More

Limerick rewarded with magnificent seven All-Star spots following remarkable four-in-a-row

The Treaty County lead the way with Kilkenny capturing five places, Clare having two and Galway's Conor Whelan ...
Read More

Newcastle West exit Munster championship after Clonmel Commercials loss

Jimmy Lee's men bowed out of the provincial championship after a seven-point loss in FBD Semple Stadium on ...
Read More

‘1973: Keeping the Dream Alive‘ officially launches at the Woodlands

Limerick's 1973 All-Ireland win has been commemorated with the release of this new book, which was launched on ...
Read More

Newcastle West clinch three-in-a-row while Mungret promoted to Senior | Football Finals Round-Up

Jimmy Lee's men won by the minimum in the TUS Gaelic Grounds, with Mungret St Paul's getting past ...
Read More