Skip to content

Five Munster players named in Irish U20 team to play England

Leinster Academy back Aaron O’Sullivan is the latest debutant for the Ireland Under-20s at the World Rugby U-20 Championship, with head coach Noel McNamara making eight personnel changes for Monday’s 5th-8th place play-off against England in Rosario (kick-off 3.30pm local time/7.30pm Irish time).

There are also first starts for David Ryan, the younger brother of Leinster and Ireland star James Ryan, and Tullow native Charlie Ward, who gets his opportunity at tighthead prop. Michael Milne switches to loosehead with the ever-dynamic Dylan Tierney-Martin resuming at hooker.

With Ciaran Booth (knee) and David McCann (concussion) both suffering tournament-ending injuries, Ryan Baird moves to blindside flanker and St. Mary’s College clubman Ronan Watters makes a timely return at openside. Ulster’s Azur Allison continues at number 8, fresh from scoring his first Ireland U-20 try.

Captain Charlie Ryan has Thomas Ahern, a debutant the last day, alongside him in the second row, while vice-captain Craig Casey joins his Munster Academy colleague Ben Healy at half-back. David Ryan combines with Liam Turner in midfield, and there is a fresh look to the back-three with O’Sullivan linking up with Munster duo Jake Flannery and Jonathan Wren.

The squad’s latest injury-enforced call-up is Clontarf second row Brian Deeny, who is part of a bench which includes Luke Clohessyand Max O’Reilly who both won their first caps during the 38-14 bonus point win over Italy. A victory over the English side would set up a shot at a fifth place finish against either New Zealand or Wales.

McNamara commented:

Since Wednesday’s win over Italy, we’ve decamped from our base for the pool stages in Santa Fe and made the move down to Rosario for the final two games of the competition. It’s our third encounter with England this season and we’ve a pretty good idea of what’s coming down the line.

“The players have been really focused on their rest and recovery since Wednesday with a view to being in the best possible condition ahead of tomorrow’s play-off clash.”

IRELAND UNDER-20 Team & Replacements (v England Under-20s, 2019 World Rugby U-20 Championship – 5th-8th Place Play-Off, Club Old Resian, Rosario, Argentina, Monday, June 17, kick-off 3.30pm local time/7.30pm Irish time):

15. Jake Flannery (Shannon/Munster)
14. Aaron O’Sullivan (UCD/Leinster) *
13. Liam Turner (Dublin University/Leinster) (capt)
12. David Ryan (UCD/Leinster)
11. Jonathan Wren (Cork Constitution/Munster)
10. Ben Healy (Garryowen/Munster)
9. Craig Casey (Shannon/Munster)

1. Michael Milne (UCD/Leinster)
2. Dylan Tierney-Martin (Corinthians/Connacht)
3. Charlie Ward (Clontarf/Leinster)
4. Charlie Ryan (UCD/Leinster) (capt)
5. Thomas Ahern (Shannon/Munster)
6. Ryan Baird (Dublin University/Leinster)
7. Ronan Watters (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
8. Azur Allison (Ballymena/Ulster)


16. Declan Adamson (Clontarf/Leinster)
17. Thomas Clarkson (Dublin University/Leinster)
18. Josh Wycherley (Young Munster/Munster)
19. John McKee (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
20. Brian Deeny (Clontarf/Leinster) 
21. Niall Murray (Buccaneers/Connacht)
22. Luke Clohessy (Shannon/Munster)
24. Colm Reilly (Buccaneers/Connacht)
25. Rob Russell (Dublin University/Leinster)
26. Cormac Foley (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
27. Angus Kernohan (Queen’s University/Ulster)
28. Max O’Reilly (Dublin University/Leinster)

Denotes uncapped player at this level

Social Sharing

Posted in

‘No Human is limited’ Ireland Need To Push Limits To Beat NZ

‘No Human is limited’ so reads a blue band worn on the wrist of Eluid Kipchoge the first ...
Read More

Garryowen earn first win of 2019/2020 AIL campaign

Conan Doyle's Garryowen side got over the disappointment of an opening day defeat to holders Cork Con by ...
Read More

Junior Rugby Roundup: Wins for Newcastlewest, Thomond & Abbeyfeale

Newcastle West remain in the top three of the Munster Junior League 1 after a deserved away victory ...
Read More

WATCH: “Tonight was another major step in the right direction” Murray reacts to Samoa win

Ireland wrapped up their final pool game in style over the weekend by scoring seven tries during their ...
Read More

Cheetahs end Munster’s early unbeaten run in Bloemfontein

Munster have suffered their first Guinness PRO14 loss of the season after a 40-16 result against an in-form ...
Read More

PREVIEW: Limerick sides in AIL action this weekend

Young Munster will aim to get their first points of the board after their opening loss to Clontarf ...
Read More

The Breakdown EP112 ‘Ireland Are Built To Take Advantage Of What Sexton Offers’

Episode 112 of The Breakdown is here! Raffaele Rocca and Tom Savage preview Ireland's must-win game against Samoa ...
Read More

Five changes for Munster ahead of Cheetahs clash

Munster head coach Johann Van Graan has named his side for Friday evening’s Guinness PRO14 clash against an ...
Read More