Five Munster Players Named in Irish XV For Women’s Six Nations Opener

Five Munster players are in the starting XV with one more among the replacements for Saturday’s opener.

Head Coach Greg McWilliams has named the Ireland Match Day Squad, sponsored by Aon, for Saturday’s opening TikTok Women’s Six Nations clash against Wales in Cardiff (Kick-off 2.15pm, live on RTÉ2/BBC iPlayer).

Five Munster players are in the starting XV: Enya Breen, Nicole Cronin, Aoife Doyle, Maeve Óg O’Leary and Dorothy Wall all start with Deirbhile Nic a Bhaird among the replacements.

Nichola Fryday will captain the side from the second row, with two uncapped players named in the Match Day squad.

18-year-old Ulster prop Sadhbh McGrath is selected in the front row having impressed McWilliams and the Ireland coaching team during the recent Celtic Challenge competition, while Leinster’s Niamh O’Dowd is also in line for her debut cap off the bench.

The Ireland backline contains an exciting blend of youth and experience, with the likes of Méabh Deely, Aoife Dalton and Natasja Behan – who all made their debuts during last summer’s historic Tour of Japan – set to make their first Six Nations appearances.

Deely, Behan and Aoife Doyle make up the back three, with Dalton joined by the experienced Enya Breen in the Ireland midfield. Nicole Cronin and Molly Scuffil-McCabe are named as half-backs, with Dannah O’Brien and Vicky Irwin providing the backline reinforcements on the bench.

Up front, debutant McGrath packs down alongside Neve Jones and Linda Djougang, with captain Fryday and Sam Monaghan in the second row. Dorothy Wall, Maeve Óg O’Leary and Brittany Hogan are selected in the back row, with the uncapped O’Dowd, Deirbhile Nic a Bhaird, Christy Haney, Jo Brown, Grace Moore and Hannah O’Connor giving McWilliams strong options from the bench.

In injury news, Edel McMahon and Aoife Wafer have been unfortunately ruled out of the Championship through injury.

Saturday’s match is live on RTÉ2 and the BBC iPlayer.


15. Méabh Deely (Blackrock College RFC/Connacht)(2 caps)
14. Aoife Doyle (Railway Union RFC/Munster)(12)
13. Aoife Dalton (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)(2)
12. Enya Breen (Blackrock College RFC/Munster)(16)
11. Natasja Behan (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster)(2)
10. Nicole Cronin (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)(21)
9. Molly Scuffil-McCabe (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)(4)

1. Sadhbh McGrath (City of Derry/Cooke RFC/Ulster)*
2. Neve Jones (Gloucester-Hartpury/Ulster)(13)
3. Linda Djougang (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)(24)
4. Nichola Fryday (Exeter Chiefs/Connacht)(29)(Captain)
5. Sam Monaghan (Gloucester-Hartpury/IQ Rugby)(10)
6. Dorothy Wall (Blackrock College RFC/Munster)(16)
7. Maeve Óg O’Leary (Blackrock College RFC/Munster)(3)
8. Brittany Hogan (Old Belvedere RFC/Ulster)(10)


16. Deirbhile Nic a Bhaird (Old Belvedere RFC/Munster)(4)
17. Niamh O’Dowd (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)*
18. Christy Haney (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster)(5)
19. Jo Brown (Worcester Warriors/IQ Rugby)(1)
20. Grace Moore (Saracens/IQ Rugby)(5)
21. Hannah O’Connor (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster)(14)
22. Dannah O’Brien (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)(2)
23. Vicky Irwin (Sale Sharks/Ulster)(1).

Social Sharing

Posted in

Calvin Nash one of nine Munster players selected in Ireland’s Summer Training Squad

Winger Nash is one of four uncapped players named in the side, a reward for his outstanding performances ...
Read More

HIGHLIGHTS | Munster claim URC title in style in Cape Town

A superb team move created the opening for Hodnett to go over in the left corner late on ...
Read More

Munster end 12-year wait for silverware as they dethrone Stormers in URC final

Munster are the 2022/23 URC champions after beating the DHL Stormers in Cape Town in Saturday’s final. John ...
Read More

Three changes as Murray, Fekitoa and Nash come into starting XV for URC Final

Fekitoa resumes his centre partnership with Antoine Frisch in midfield as Nash joins full-back Mike Haley and Shane ...
Read More

Leamy and Kleyn “in good spirits” as Munster look to end trophy drought against the Stormers

Rowntree’s side have arrived in Cape Town ahead of the clash, and Leamy has reported that all is ...
Read More

WATCH | Munster’s Season So Far Ahead of URC Final

After a slow start, the province finally found their feet under Rowntree after the turn of the year ...
Read More

Snyman, Murray, Fekitoa and Nash return as Munster name 30-man travelling squad for URC final

Malakai Fekitoa, Conor Murray, Calvin Nash and RG Snyman have completed the return to play protocols and are ...
Read More

No fresh injury concerns for Munster following URC semi-final win over Leinster | Squad Update

The Munster team and management will travel to South Africa early next week with the travelling squad named ...
Read More