Footballers earn a dramatic late win over Carlow

Limerick’s footballers made it three wins from three with a 1-7 to 0-9 win over Carlow at Netwatch Cullen Park.

Billy Lee’s charges trailled 0-9 to 0-6 heading into added time, but a Bob Childs goal and an Iain Corbett penalty saw them to a sensational victory.

Limerick were aided by a gale force win in the first half, but it was Carlow that made the better start.

Tony McCarthy and Jamie Lee had wides before Paul Broderick gave the home side the lead with a fine free into the breeze in the second minute.

It was a similar story for large parts of the first half as Limerick had plenty of possession, but were unable to force a way through a Carlow side that flooded back inside their own ’45.

Munster GAA Football Senior Championship Quarter-Final, Semple Stadium, Co. Tipperary 11/5/2019 Tipperary vs Limerick Limerick’s Adrian Enright Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Laszlo Geczo

Broderick was in superb free taking form into the breeze and further efforts in the 8th and 15th minutes saw them 0-3 to 0-0 ahead.

Carlow also had a goal chance through Diarmuid Walshe, but Donal O’Sullivan’s outstretched leg diverted the ball wide. Broderick point the ’45 to stretch their lead to three.

The same man put Carlow four points clear, before Limerick finally got on the board through Cillian Fahy.

Two Adrian Enright scores followed and Billy Lee’s men went in all square at the break thanks to an outstanding Bob Childs effort from the right wing.

Limerick went two points clear early in the second half through Jamie Lee and Danny Neville, but Carlow hit five in a row to lead by three going into added time.

However, Limerick produced a dramatic comeback thanks to Bob Childs’ goal and Corbett’s penalty.

Limerick: Donal O’Sullivan, Paul Maher, Brian Fanning, Mike Donovan; Bob Childs, Iain Corbett, Tony McCarthy; Tommy Griffin, Tommie Childs; Padraig de Brun, Cillian Fahy, James Naughton; Adrian Enright, Jamie Lee, Danny Neville.

Scorers: Bob Childs 1-1, Adrian Enright 0-2, Cillian Fahy, Jamie Lee (f), Danny Neville, Iain Corbett (pen) 0-1 each.

Social Sharing

Posted in

Limerick name team for Munster U-20 football clash with Tipperary

Limerick U-20 football manager Jerry O'Sullivan has named his side that play Tipperary in the Munster Championship quarter ...
Read More

WATCH: McMahon retains her Irish 4-Walls Handball title

Martina McMahon retained her Irish 4-Wall Nationals title on Sunday in Aughagower HC, Mayo. McMahon was hot favourite, ...
Read More

LISTEN: UL Manager O'Sullivan hails 'massive achievement' in Ashbourne Cup

The University of Limerick made it five on the bounce yesterday when they claimed the Ashbourne Cup at ...
Read More

Limerick's League Clash With Waterford Postponed Until Sunday

Following a Pitch Inspection and taking into consideration the weather conditions, the Limerick v Waterford Allianz Hurling League ...
Read More

Treaty Talk EP98: Hurlers return to League action as Footballers maintain 100% start

Last weekend Billy Lee's footballers made it 3/3 when they defeated Carlow in Newatch Cullen Park to solidify ...
Read More

WATCH: John Kiely expecting a 'formidable challenge' against Waterford

Tomorrow evening Limerick welcome Waterford to the LIT Gaelic Grounds in the third round of the Allianz National ...
Read More

Five changes as John Kiely names side to face Waterford on Saturday

Limerick manager John Kiely has named his side to face Waterford in the third round of the National ...
Read More

Hurlers return to league action against Waterford

LIMERICK’S senior hurlers return to Allianz National Hurling League action this Saturday when they welcome Waterford to the ...
Read More