Former All-Star hurler included as Limerick reveal 36-man Masters Football Panel

The Shannonsiders will compete in the Masters Football Championship for the first time later this year.

Anthony McCarthy has named a 36-man Limerick squad for the 2023 Masters football championship. Maurice O’Connor of Mountcollins captains the side which has representatives from 22 different clubs in the county.

Ronan McGee (Hospital Herbertstown) and Eddie Mulcahy (Pallasgreen) are vice-captains to O’Connor.

2023 will be Limerick’s first venture into the championship and they are best represented by Dromcollogher Broadford who have five players chosen including a number from the dominant side of the 00’s who won seven Limerick SFC titles in 15 years.

Patrickswell native and three-time Hurling All-Star Ciaran Carey is a notable inclusion in the squad.

Kilteely Dromkeen’s McCarthy is the manager of the side and he will have Aidan O’Sullivan (Bruff) and Jason Daly (Ballysteen) as selectors. Katie Lynch is the teams physio.

2023 Limerick Masters Football Panel

John O’Kelly, Ray Lynch, Micheal Reidy, Ben Noonan and Marty Stokes (Drom Broadford), Dermot Phelan, Michael Geary, Liam Mulchay and Gary Campbell (St Patricks), Trevor Cosgrave, Denis O’Connor and John O’Connell (Knockane), Wesley Fitzgerald and Michael O’Donoghue (Claughaun), Michael Moloney and Derek Connacughton (Caherconlish), Joe Mulcahy and Paul Casey (Killeedy), Sean Carey and Paul Darmody (Ahane), Eddie Mulcahy and James McMahon (Pallasgreen), Maurice O’Connor (Mountcollins) (Captain), Ollie Dowling (Knockaderry), Seamus Lenihan (Fr Caseys), Joe Teefy (Ballybricken Bohermore), Matthew Hanley (Kilteely Dromkeen), Damien Mullaney (Castlemahon), Ciaran Carey (Patrickswell), Andrew Breedy (Galtee Gaels), Karl O’Regan (Camogue Rovers), John Lynch (Feenagh Kilmeedy), Ronan McGee (Hospital Herbertstown), John Doyle (St Kierans), Darren Kavanagh (St Senans), John O’Sullivan (Bruff)

Social Sharing

Posted in

John Kiely’s management team confirmed for 2024

Joe O'Connor returns to the fold as High Performance Manager, joined by John Flavin who comes into the ...
Read More

Donal O’Sullivan announces intercounty retirement

The news that the Monaleen man is retiring from intercounty football will be greeted with great disappointment. Limerick ...
Read More

Lacklustre Na Piarsaigh bow out to Ballygunner

Na Piarsaigh slumped to a four point loss in their Munster Senior Club Hurling Championship semi-final, against Ballygunner ...
Read More

Aaron Gillane wins 2023 Hurler of the Year

Patrickswell sharpshooter Aaron Gillane crowned a superb 2023 for both himself and Limerick by claiming the 2023 All ...
Read More

Limerick rewarded with magnificent seven All-Star spots following remarkable four-in-a-row

The Treaty County lead the way with Kilkenny capturing five places, Clare having two and Galway's Conor Whelan ...
Read More

Newcastle West exit Munster championship after Clonmel Commercials loss

Jimmy Lee's men bowed out of the provincial championship after a seven-point loss in FBD Semple Stadium on ...
Read More

‘1973: Keeping the Dream Alive‘ officially launches at the Woodlands

Limerick's 1973 All-Ireland win has been commemorated with the release of this new book, which was launched on ...
Read More

Newcastle West clinch three-in-a-row while Mungret promoted to Senior | Football Finals Round-Up

Jimmy Lee's men won by the minimum in the TUS Gaelic Grounds, with Mungret St Paul's getting past ...
Read More