Four Limerick players chosen in Hurling Team of the Week following Cork thriller

It comes off the back of the quartet all playing huge roles in Limerick’s thrilling one point win over Cork that booked their Munster final place.

Barry Nash, Diarmaid Byrnes, Darragh O’Donovan and Aaron Gillane have all been named in the Hurling Team of the Week. It comes off the back of the quartet all playing huge roles in Limerick’s thrilling one point win over Cork, as they booked their place in the Munster final.

All four played from the start, handsomely contributing to Limerick’s tally of 3-25. Byrnes put in an inspiring display from half-back, the Patrickswell man accounting for 1-4 of the Treaty’s total with his second half goal out of the top drawer. The reigning hurler of the year is also in the running for the player of the week award alongside Lee Chin and Paddy Boland.

His clubmate Gillane scored five points on the day, three of those coming from play as well as winning the penalty, as he was a constant threat for John Kiely’s men.

As for O’Donovan, the Doon man pitched in with three points from midfield, all coming from play. He gave a tireless display in the engine room of the Limerick side, as they reached their fifth consecutive Munster final.

Nash is selected in the corner following another inspirational display. The South Liberties club man was solid at corner back, dealing with whatever Cork forward came his way as well as scoring a point of his own.

Elsewhere, there is representation for eight other counties in total. Donal Burke of Dublin, and Wexford duo Diarmuid O’Keefe and Chin make the team following their sides shock wins over Kilkenny. Boland is named in the side after he shot 1-4 as Carlow went on to lift the Joe McDonagh cup. Hurling Team of the Week

  1. Shaun O’Brien (Waterford)
  2. Niall O’Connor (Antrim)
  3. Mark Fitzgerald (Waterford)
  4. Barry Nash (Limerick)
  5. Diarmaid Byrnes (Limerick)
  6. Daithi Burke (Galway)
  7. Diarmuid O’Keeffe (Wexford)
  8. Darragh O’Donovan (Limerick)
  9. Joseph Cooney (Galway)
  10. Donal Burke (Dublin)
  11. Lee Chin (Wexford)
  12. Eoin Cody (Kilkenny)
  13. Patrick Horgan (Cork)
  14. Aaron Gillane (Limerick)
  15. Paddy Boland (Carlow)

GAA coverage on Sporting Limerick is brought to you in association with Noels Menswear, shop online here or visit in Dooradoyle, Limerick City or Newcastle West.

Social Sharing

Posted in

Champions Limerick bow out to red hot Rebels

Limerick 0-29Cork 1-28By Tom Clancy at Croke ParkLimerick's most remarkable run ended after a narrow, two-point loss, after ...
Read More

TEAM: Limerick make two changes to side to face Cork

John Kiely and his backroom team have made two changes from the starting XV that faced Clare in ...
Read More

Kingston Promises Intensity from “The Minute the Ball is in Play Right to the Very End”

For Shane Kingston and his Cork teammates, the journey to this point had been anything but straightforward, marked ...
Read More

Hannon on Success & Setbacks as Limerick Look Forward to Rebel Rematch

Limerick will do battle with a familiar foe in Cork this weekend as all roads lead to Croke ...
Read More

Hegarty: ‘There is a lot more to life outside of hurling”

In association with Bord Gais Energy. With six Munster and five All Ireland medals to his name, Gearóid ...
Read More

Sligo a bridge too far for Limerick as Tailteann dream ends

Sligo 2-20Limerick 0-9By Tom Clancy in Markievicz ParkLimerick’s hopes of a trip to Croke Park were wiped away ...
Read More

WATCH | Kiely, Gillane & O’Neill react after historic Munster SHC victory

Limerick made more history when claiming a record breaking sixth Munster Senior Hurling title in a row, thanks ...
Read More

Six of the best – Limerick claim record breaking Munster title

Limerick 1-26Clare 1-20By Tom Clancy in ThurlesLimerick made more history when claiming a record breaking sixth Munster Senior ...
Read More