Four Limerick Representatives on Ireland Club International Squad

An extended 32-man Ireland Club International squad has been named for the 2019 Series. Ireland Club XV Head Coach Morgan Lennon made the announcement ahead of Dalriada Cup games against Scotland Clubs on February 1st and 8th.

Liam Cronin’s inclusion continues a proud history at this level for the Cronin family – his brother Neil made eight appearances in a Club International jersey prior to linking up with Munster on a full-time basis this season. His Garryowen team-mate Andrew Keating is also named.

Former Crescent Comprehensive student JJ O’Neill, now of Cork Con is also named in the squad as is Young Munster’s Dan Walsh.

Overall, 14 clubs are represented among the 32 players with Old Wesley’s Lennon and Assistant Coach Johne Murphy (Naas RFC) at the helm for a third year. 

Seven of the squad come from current All-Ireland League Division 1A leaders Cork Constitution, including Brian Hayes – one of 19 players uncapped at this level. 

Prop Ian Prendiville is the most experienced of Lansdowne’s six-strong contingent with five Club XV appearances to date, despite missing out on the 2018 series. 

Matt D’Arcy (pictured below) is among the five Clontarf players named in the squad. The centre could make a record eighth Club XV start during the two-game series. The record for most caps is held by Dolphin’s Barry Keeshan who made seven starts in 11 appearances while scoring a record 51 points. 

Matt D'Arcy in action for the Ireland Club team in 2018

Peter Starrett could become the first City of Armagh player to contest a Club International. There are two players each from Old Wesley and Naas with one player each drawn from Buccaneers, Malone and Old Belvedere. 

Speaking at the squad’s first camp at Ashbourne RFC, Head Coach Morgan Lennon said:

“It’s such a tough selection process because there are so many quality players in the league. What we’re looking for is leadership. We will give them the framework to work in and it will be down to the right players to make the right decisions on the field. 

“We played poorly for 40 minutes in Scotland last year and we lost the Dalriada Cup on the back of that. The guys that were involved last year know the standard required if we are going to win this. We know where we have to get to by February 1st and again for the home game on February 8th.”

IRELAND CLUB INTERNATIONAL Squad (v Scotland Clubs February 2019):
Alan Bennie (Lansdowne) *
Harry Brennan (Lansdowne)
Michael Brown (Clontarf) *
Royce Burke Flynn (Clontarf)
Luke Cahill (Cork Constitution) *
Adam Coyle (Naas) *
Liam Cronin (Garryowen) *
Matt D’Arcy (Clontarf)
Cronan Gleeson (Old Wesley) 
Brian Hayes (Cork Constitution) *
Andrew Keating (Garryowen) *
Jack Keating (Old Belvedere) *
Niall Kenneally (Cork Constitution)
Tom Kiersey (Old Wesley) *
Conor Kindregan (Cork Constitution) *
Dan McEvoy (Lansdowne) 
Joe McSwiney (Cork Constitution)
Michael Melia (Terenure College)
Eamonn Mills (Lansdowne)
Aidan Moynihan (Cork Constitution) *
Michael Noone (Clontarf)
JJ O’Neill (Cork Constitution) *
Peter Osbourne (Naas)
Tom O’Reilly (St. Mary’s College) *
Jack O’Sullivan (Lansdowne) *
John Poland (UCC) *
Ian Prendiville (Lansdowne)
Tony Ryan (Clontarf)
Callum Smith (Malone) *
Peter Starrett (City of Armagh) *
John Sutton (Buccaneers) *
Dan Walsh (Young Munster) *

* Denotes previously uncapped at this level

Head Coach – Morgan Lennon
Assistant Coach – Johne Murphy
Team Manager – Maurice Hartery
Baggage Master – David Jermyn
Strength & Conditioning Coach – Cathal Murtagh
Doctor – Stuart O’Flanagan
Physio – Ailbe McCormack


Scotland Clubs v Ireland Club XV
Friday, February 1, kick-off 7.30pm
Myerside Stadium, Edinburgh

Ireland Club XV v Scotland Clubs
Friday, February 8, kick-off 7.30pm
Energia Park, Donnybrook

Ireland Club XV Top Scorers – Points:
Barry Keeshan (Dolphin) 51
Craig Ronaldson (Lansdowne) 37
Scott Deasy (Lansdowne) 26

Ireland Club XV Top Scorers – Tries:
Barry O’Mahony (Clontarf), Mark Roche (Lansdowne) 4
Frank Cogan (Clontarf/Cork Constitution), Simon Crawford (Clontarf), Paddy Finlay (Clontarf/Dublin University), Daniel Riordan (Old Belvedere) 3

Ireland Club XV Caps:
Barry Keeshan (Dolphin) 11
Frank Cogan (Clontarf/Cork Constitution), Gerry Hurley (Garryowen/Cork Constitution) 10

Social Sharing

Posted in

Munster confirm all female coaching ticket for Women’s and U-18s for next season

Munster Rugby have confirmed their coaching set ups for their Women and U-18 Girl’s squads and for the ...
Read More

Ireland U20s beaten in the final seconds by a powerful English side

A hard-hitting injury time try from England replacement Tom Willis dashed Ireland's hopes of a 5th place finish ...
Read More

New conference structure for Pro 14 confirmed

Munster will be in Conference B of the Guinness Pro 14 for the next two seasons at least ...
Read More

Five Munster players named in Irish U20 team to play England

Leinster Academy back Aaron O’Sullivan is the latest debutant for the Ireland Under-20s at the World Rugby U-20 Championship, with head ...
Read More

Opinion: Larkham May Provide Detail Munster Players Crave

John Langford, Jim Williams, Rua Tipoki, Doug Howlett, Trevor Halstead and Jean DeVilliers. Munster fans will be hoping ...
Read More

Stephen Larkham To Join Munster Rugby

Munster Rugby and the IRFU have today confirmed that Stephen Larkham will join the province as Senior Coach ...
Read More

Ireland beat Italy to end on a high but run out of steam in semi-final goal

Ireland has beaten Italy 38-14 this afternoon to secure second place in Pool B of the U20 World ...
Read More

Munster Rugby Granted Planning Permission For Cork Training Facility

Munster Rugby have today announced that they’ve been granted planning permission by Cork County Council for the construction ...
Read More