Goals key again as Limerick advance in Tailteann Cup

Limerick 2-14
London 0-10

Two first-half goals, in the dying embers of the opening thirty-five minutes were the platform for Limerick to get back-to-back wins and advance to the last 12 of the 2024 Tailteann Cup. A double scores win suggests, rightly, that Limerick were comfortable at Parnell Park.

Jimmy Lee’s men held all the aces and were firmly in control when Danny Neville marked his return to the starting XV with an instinctive volleyed goal. The Ballysteen man was central to the second goal, as Paul Maher finished of an Emmet Rigter pass, set up by Neville’s defence opening run.

While the pacy forward was key, so too were earlier points from Cathal Downes, who kicked four in the first half. While his efficiency dropped in the second period, there was further scores from Peter Nash, Barry Coleman and Rigter.

Limerick led 2-8 to 0-6 at half-time with London’s long kick-outs their main route to goal. Points from Shay Rafter and Michael Carroll kept them ticking, but they never believed they could add to a first championship win in 11 years. They achieved that feat against Offaly in May, but were too porous against a rejuvenated Treaty side.

Limerick did play for 10 minutes without Neville who was blackcarded but the experience of Josh Ryan, Iain Corbett, Tony McCarthy and sub Tommy Griffin helped them maintain a steady lead.

The wait is now for the draw, which takes place in the coming days, Limerick will be at home to one of the sides who finished third, or New York. The American side were automatically in the knockout stages.

Limerick were defeated in the quarter-final of this competition in June of last season, missing out to Laois.

Scorers for Limerick:  Cathal Downes, Peter Nash (0-2 frees) 0-4 each; Danny Neville 1-1; Paul Maher 1-0; Barry Coleman 0-2; Josh Ryan (free); Emmet Rigter, Brian Aherne 0-1 each.
Scorers for London: Michael Carroll 0-3; Shay Raferty (0-2 frees), Daniel Clarke 0-2 each; Aidan McLoughlin, Eoin Walsh, Ciaran Driver (free) 0-1 each.
Limerick: Josh Ryan; Cormac Woulfe, Séan O’Dea, Paul Maher; Barry Coleman, Cillian Fahy, Tony McCarthy; Tommy Childs, Iain Corbett; Emmett Rigter, James Naughton, Cathal Downes; Danny Neville, Robbie Childs, Peter Nash.  

Subs:  Bryan Nix for Naughton (50); Jim Liston for Maher (55)
London: Andrew Walsh; Daire Rooney, Cahir Healy, Eoin Walsh (C); Oran Kerr, Ciaran McKeon, Aidan McLoughlin; Joshua Obahor, Michael Carroll; Stephen Dornan, Daniel Clare, Ciaran Diver; Ruairi Rafferty, Shay Rafter, Nathan McElwaine. 
Subs: DJ O’Flaherty for Dornan (54);

Referee: David Murnane (Cork) 

Social Sharing

Posted in ,

Champions Limerick bow out to red hot Rebels

Limerick 0-29Cork 1-28By Tom Clancy at Croke ParkLimerick's most remarkable run ended after a narrow, two-point loss, after ...
Read More

TEAM: Limerick make two changes to side to face Cork

John Kiely and his backroom team have made two changes from the starting XV that faced Clare in ...
Read More

Kingston Promises Intensity from “The Minute the Ball is in Play Right to the Very End”

For Shane Kingston and his Cork teammates, the journey to this point had been anything but straightforward, marked ...
Read More

Hannon on Success & Setbacks as Limerick Look Forward to Rebel Rematch

Limerick will do battle with a familiar foe in Cork this weekend as all roads lead to Croke ...
Read More

Hegarty: ‘There is a lot more to life outside of hurling”

In association with Bord Gais Energy. With six Munster and five All Ireland medals to his name, Gearóid ...
Read More

Sligo a bridge too far for Limerick as Tailteann dream ends

Sligo 2-20Limerick 0-9By Tom Clancy in Markievicz ParkLimerick’s hopes of a trip to Croke Park were wiped away ...
Read More

WATCH | Kiely, Gillane & O’Neill react after historic Munster SHC victory

Limerick made more history when claiming a record breaking sixth Munster Senior Hurling title in a row, thanks ...
Read More

Six of the best – Limerick claim record breaking Munster title

Limerick 1-26Clare 1-20By Tom Clancy in ThurlesLimerick made more history when claiming a record breaking sixth Munster Senior ...
Read More