Grehan Selects First Oscar Traynor Trophy Squad

New Limerick District League Oscar Traynor Trophy manager John Grehan has selected his first squad ahead of the beginning of the tournament. Grehan will be assisted by Leon Casey-Ryan and player-coach Shane Clarke for the season.

The former Limerick FC assistant manager takes over from Shane O’Hanlon and Aidan Ryan who led Janesboro Football Club, who were representing the league last season, to success with a victory over Kilkenny District League in the final.

However, the squad will now be made up from players from all over the Premier Division. There are six players selected from league leaders Pike Rovers, six from Fairview Rangers, four from Ballynanty Rovers, two from Aisling Annacotty and two from Geraldines.

Limerick District League will compete in a group including Kerry, Clare and Limerick Desmond League. Grehan’s side will be facing both Clare District League and Limerick Desmond League away from home while they will face Kerry League at Jackman Park. Two teams will go through to the quarter final stage.

There are ficve players in the provisional squad who won the competition in 2019. Adrian Power, Keith Mawdsley, Danny O’Neill, Thomas and Shane Clarke were all part of the victorious Janesboro side.

Below is the provisional Limerick District League squad in full.

Gary Neville

Eoin Hanrahan

Colin Daly

Keith Mawdsley

Shane Walsh

Pat Mullins (All Pike Rovers)

Adrian Power

Connor Ellis

Kieran Hanlon

Michael Guerin (All Ballynanty Rovers)

Danny O’Neill

Evan Moloney (Both Geraldines)

Thomas Clarke,

Shane Clarke (Both Aisling Annacotty)

Ross Mann

John Mullane

Dermot Fitzgerald

AJ O’Connor

Stephen Bradley

Clyde O’Connell (All Fairview Rangers)

Social Sharing

Posted in

WATCH: “You could find an ankle hanging off”- Paudie O’Connor reflects on his roots

Three years ago, Limerick FC lost one of its brightest young players to the Championship when Paudie O'Connor ...
Read More

Colbert Appointed as New Prospect Manager

Former Pike Rovers stalwart Wayne Colbert has been announced as the new manager of Prospect Priory FC. Colbert ...
Read More

LISTEN: O’Hanlon Delighted with Annacotty Appointment

New Aisling Annacotty manager Shane O'Hanlon is excited by the challenge of leading the club following his official ...
Read More

Shane O’Hanlon Takes the Reigns at Aisling Annacotty

Former Janesboro manager Shane O'Hanlon has been appointed as the new manager of Aisling Annacotty AFC. Aisling had ...
Read More

Limerick Desmond League cancels 2019/20 season with immediate effect

The 2019/2020 Limerick Desmond League Season has been cancelled. Last night the decision was made to cancel the ...
Read More

2019/2020 Limerick District League Season Officially Cancelled

Understandably, due to the current fight against the Coronavirus, the future of amateur football has not been high ...
Read More

LISTEN: Declan Casey Selects 1-11

Former Limerick FC and Pike Rovers player Declan Casey spoke to Sporting Limerick over the weekend and chose ...
Read More

FAI Reveal Return Dates for amateur and Underage Football

Following on from last week's statement, the Football Association of Ireland have announced that the cessation of all ...
Read More