Hapless Limerick dispatched 3-0 by Derry City in Buncrana


First half goals from Barry McNamee and Rory Patterson and a late strike from Ben Doherty ensured that Derry City recorded a comfortable victory over Limerick FC at Maginn Park.

The defeat leaves Limerick in seventh place and just two points ahead of ninth place St.Patricks Athletic, albeit with a game less played than the Inchicore outfit. The win moves Derry five points clear of fourth place Shamrock Rovers, their nearest challengers for a European place.

Limerick made a disastrous start to the game when an under hit back-pass from David O’Connor allowed Barry McNamee to intercept and round goalkeeper Brendan Clarke before slotting the ball into the empty net. Soon after, the visitors were 2-0 down as neat build up play from Derry resulted in a pull-back to Rory Patterson, who slotted the ball home from 20 yards.

Midway through the first-half, Brendan Clarke produced a superb save to deny Ronan Curtis as Derry piled on the pressure to end the game as a contest. Limerick’s first chance was a speculative attempted lob by Stephen Kenny which went wide of Ger Doherty’s goal. On the half hour mark, the impressive Aaron McEneff tried his luck from distance but Clarke got down quickly to save.

Derry dominated possession in the second-half as Limerick struggled to cope with McNamee and the attacking prowess of full-backs Dean Jarvis and Conor McDermott. It was the former who drove through the heart of the Limerick midfield before seeing his effort blocked. Lukasz Schubert got in behind Dave O’Connor before picking out Rory Patterson, whose effort travelled over the bar.

Limerick’s misery was complete in the final minute of the game as a deep cross was miskicked by right-back Dean Clarke, allowing substitute Ben Doherty to steer the ball into the net.

Derry City: Ger Doherty, Conor McDermott, Aaron Barry, Darren Cole, Dean Jarvis, Nicky Low (Rory Holden 88), Aaron McEneff, Barry McNamee, Lukasz Schubert(Nathan Boyle 81), Ronan Curtis (Ben Doherty 81), Rory Patterson

Subs not used: Eric Grimes, Joshua Daniels, Harry Monaghan, Eoin Toal.

Limerick FC: Brendan Clarke, Dean Clarke, Tony Whitehead, Joe Crowe, Dave O’Connor, Shane Duggan, Lee-J Lynch, Stephen, Kenny (Colm Walsh O’Loughlin 90) Henry Cameron (Bastien Hery 58), Rodrigo Tosi (John O’Flynn 58), Chiedozie Ogbene

Subs not used: Freddy Hall, Shane Tracy, Killian Brouder, Garbhan Coughlan.

Referee: Damien McGraith

Social Sharing

Posted in

John Maclean confirmed as Treaty United’s new Academy Manager

Treaty announced the news this morning with Maclean bringing a wealth of experience to the role. John Maclean ...
Read More

The Soccer Scene EP26 | Treaty halted by Waterford with Cork City on the horizon

Adrian and Noel discuss all things Treaty United in another episode of The Soccer Scene. The Soccer Scene ...
Read More

Limerick District League Fixtures Released

The first fixture list for the 2022/2022 Limerick District League fixture list has been released this evening and ...
Read More

Treaty Narrowly Lose out to Waterford

Treaty United's recent winning run came to a halt on Friday night with a 1-2 home defeat to ...
Read More

Jerry O’Dea Memorial Tournament Takes Place on Sunday

A memorial tournament in honour of Jerry O'Dea will take take place at Pike Rovers Football Club in ...
Read More

Mungret to Host Pat Cotter Memorial Tournament

Mungret Regional are hosting a tournament in memory of club founder Pat Cotter who passed away 3 years ...
Read More

Treaty Welcome Waterford to the Markets Field

Treaty United host Munster rivals Waterford FC on Friday night at the Markets Field in the Airtricity League ...
Read More

Treaty United Draw Maynooth University Town in FAI Cup

Treaty United will play non-league outfit Maynooth University Town away from home in the last 16 of the ...
Read More