Heartbreak as Limerick minors fall to Munster Final loss against Cork

A fantastic effort eventually came to nothing as Limerick’s minor footballers lost to Cork on a 1-17 to 0-13 in the Munster Final in Thurles.

Kevin Denihan’s charges led by a point in the 52nd minute but were hit by an eight-point whirlwind from The Rebels that ultimately saw them to victory.

Darragh Murray played a captain’s role in scoring 0-8 but Cork’s Hugh O’Connor was the star man on show, finishing with an impressive 1-7, 1-5 from play that ultimately proved crucial.

O’Connor was fast out of the blocks as he had 1-1 scored within four minutes. A free opened the scoring and then the Cork corner forward scored a magnificent goal.

Limerick responded with a Ruairi Cronin point before O’Connor was denied a second goal thanks to a superb Craig MacInnes save.

11 August 2021; Limerick manager Kevin Denihan during the Electric Ireland Munster minor football championship final match between Cork and Limerick at Semple Stadium in Thurles, Tipperary. Photo by Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile

Ruairi O’Duinn then got Limerick to within two points at the first water break with a fine individual score. That gap was soon at one point when Murray knocked over the first of seven frees.

That ushered in an impressive response from Cork with O’Connor (2) and Michael McSweeney kicking points that saw them into a 1-4 to 0-3 advantage.

Murray kicked another free to reduce their lead but further scores from Jack O’Neill and Colm Gillespie saw Cork well in control. Sean Geraghty got the last score of the half for Limerick that saw the score at 1-6 to 0-5.

Dan Twomey stretched Cork’s lead to five early in the second half but Emmet Rigter, Murray and Geraghty hit the target to reduce that led to just two points.

11 August 2021; Jack Somers of Limerick in action against Cork players, from left, Darragh O’Brien, Rory O’Shaughnessy and Dan Twomey during the Electric Ireland Munster minor football championship final match between Cork and Limerick at Semple Stadium in Thurles, Tipperary. Photo by Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile

O’Connor settled Cork’s nerves with another score but three further Murray frees saw the game all square for the first time.

Limerick’s captain then put his side in front ahead of the second water break but Cork finished strongly with two points each from O’Connor and Jamie O’Driscoll, as well as Sam Copps, Rory O’Shaughnessy, Luke O’Herlihy and Dylan Crowley broke Limerick hearts.

Scorers – Limerick: Darragh Murray 0-8 (7f), Sean Geraghty 0-2, Ruairi Cronin, Conall O’Duinn and Emmet Rigter 0-1 each.

Limerick: Craig MacInnes; Michael Kilbridge, Jamie Behan, Darragh Clifford; Lorcan Murphy, Aaron Neville, Stephen Kiely; Jack Somers, Darragh Murray; Marc Nolan, Emmet Rigter, Oisin O’Farrell; Sean Geraghty, Ruairi Cronin, Conall O’Duinn.

Subs: Patrick Kennedy for Cronin (h-t), Ronan Quirke for Nolan (41), Callum Boyle for Murphy (50), Shane Cross for Geraghty (63), Jack Ryan for Kiely (64).

The full match is available here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mn7c64JZsJM&t=1s

Social Sharing

Posted in

John Kiely’s management team confirmed for 2024

Joe O'Connor returns to the fold as High Performance Manager, joined by John Flavin who comes into the ...
Read More

Donal O’Sullivan announces intercounty retirement

The news that the Monaleen man is retiring from intercounty football will be greeted with great disappointment. Limerick ...
Read More

Lacklustre Na Piarsaigh bow out to Ballygunner

Na Piarsaigh slumped to a four point loss in their Munster Senior Club Hurling Championship semi-final, against Ballygunner ...
Read More

Aaron Gillane wins 2023 Hurler of the Year

Patrickswell sharpshooter Aaron Gillane crowned a superb 2023 for both himself and Limerick by claiming the 2023 All ...
Read More

Limerick rewarded with magnificent seven All-Star spots following remarkable four-in-a-row

The Treaty County lead the way with Kilkenny capturing five places, Clare having two and Galway's Conor Whelan ...
Read More

Newcastle West exit Munster championship after Clonmel Commercials loss

Jimmy Lee's men bowed out of the provincial championship after a seven-point loss in FBD Semple Stadium on ...
Read More

‘1973: Keeping the Dream Alive‘ officially launches at the Woodlands

Limerick's 1973 All-Ireland win has been commemorated with the release of this new book, which was launched on ...
Read More

Newcastle West clinch three-in-a-row while Mungret promoted to Senior | Football Finals Round-Up

Jimmy Lee's men won by the minimum in the TUS Gaelic Grounds, with Mungret St Paul's getting past ...
Read More