HIGHLIGHTS | Ballygiblin’s goal prove the difference as Kierans fall to Munster final defeat

The Limerick Junior Hurling champions fell the reigning kingpins who reached last year’s All-Ireland Junior final.

Ballygiblin retained their Munster Junior Hurling Championship crown on Sunday at the expense of St Kierans, winning the contest 3-12 to 0-11 in Mallow.

Three first half goals were the difference in Mallow as Shane Beston hit a hat trick for the defending champions to put the game beyond the Limerick champions

St Kierans opened the scoring through a Darragh Treacy point on three minutes but were leveled a minute later, the only scores in the opening ten minutes in a tight opening to the final.

Another point put Kieran’s back into the lead on twelve minutes, but they were dealt a huge blow when the reigning champions surged up the other end and played a couple of passes at the face of the Kieran’s goal before Beston hit the back of the net to give Ballygiblin a 1-1 to 0-2 lead.

Both teams exchanged points in the next five minutes before a long puck from Darragh Flynn was met by Beston who kept his composure to knock the sliotar towards goal and finished excellently to put Ballygiblin in a comfortable position already with just 18 minutes on the clock.

St Kierans worked well to narrow the deficit and were heading into half-time just two points behind until a Cathail O’ Mahoney effort rebounded off the post into the path of Beston yet again who fought off a challenge and fired past Cillian Ambrose in goal to secure a first-half hat-trick.

That left it at 3-2 to 0-7 as the teams headed for the dressing rooms.

Ian Mackessy continued to keep St Kierans in the game, notching their ninth and his eighth point on the 42nd minute mark but Ballygiblin continued to inflict damage onto the Limerick Junior champions, adding points to their tally as the game looked to be only going one way.

Five unanswered points for Ballygiblin gave them a healthy eleven point lead heading into stoppage time before Mackessy struck his tenth point of the game in a true captain’s performance but it wasn’t to be for them in the end as the game finished 3-12 to 0-11 to keep the title in Ballygiblin for another year.

2017 was the last year that a side from Cork didn’t get their hands on the title and St. Kieran’s were unable to prevent it happening for another year but will be a determined group next year as they prepare for Intermediate hurling.

Scorers for Ballygiblin: Shane Beston (3-3), Joseph O’Sullivan (0-9, 7 frees, 1 65′)

Scorers for St. Kierans : Ian Mackessy (0-10, 8 fress, 1 65)’, Darragh Treacy (0-1)

Please accept YouTube cookies to play this video. By accepting you will be accessing content from YouTube, a service provided by an external third party.

YouTube privacy policy

If you accept this notice, your choice will be saved and the page will refresh.

Social Sharing

Posted in

Three from three as Limerick ease beyond Dublin at Croke Park

Dublin 1-18Limerick 3-30 By Tom Clancy in Croke Park LimerickIt maintains extends Limerick’s winning streak to 10 at ...
Read More

Quaid, Hayes and O’Donoghue all start as Limerick team named for Dublin showdown

O'Donoghue captains the side, the Na Piarsaigh man rekindling his relationship with Darragh O'Donovan in the middle of ...
Read More

Limerick fall to Sligo in Allianz Football League clash

Sligo headed in at the interval with a five point lead, which they would also hold when the ...
Read More

Limerick footballers unchanged for Sligo Allianz League visit

It means Newcastlewest man Iain Corbett captains the side once more, with a number of positional switches being ...
Read More

Mary Immaculate deny University of Limerick to reclaim Fitzgibbon crown

Mary Immaculate College 2-14University of Limerick 1-15 Mary Immaculate College claimed a third-ever Fitzgibbon Cup, at the expense ...
Read More

“We will be disappointed” | John Kiely speaks following tense Westmeath victory

It was a tense affair in TEG Cusack Park, with Westmeath arguably outworking the Shannonsiders, to the dismay ...
Read More

Ó Dálaigh goal key as sluggish Limerick get over Westmeath in hurling league

Westmeath 0-16Limerick 1-19By Tom Clancy in TEG Cusack ParkLimerick made it back-to-back victories, defeating Westmeath by six points ...
Read More

Youthful Limerick put on dominant Antrim display to kick off Allianz League

Dan Morrissey, Diarmaid Byrnes and Gearóid Hegarty all started in what was a youthful Limerick side, with David ...
Read More