Irish Women’s Rugby team named for Scotland clash

Irish Women’s Rugby team announcement

Ireland Women’s head coach Adam Griggs has named his team for their final home match of the Women’s Six Nations against Scotland at Donnybrook on Sunday at 1pm.

There are two changes to the side that bet Wales 35-12 two weeks ago. Leinster’s Hannah Tyrrell, is promoted from the bench to the left wing while hooker Ciara O’Connor makes way for Cliodhna Moloney.

Munster and UL Bohemians Ciara Griffin continues to captain her side while teammates Leah Lyons and Niamh Briggs resume their positions from their win over Wales. Fiona Reidy and Nicole Cronin are both named on the bench.

Ireland Sevens regular Munster and UL Bohemians player Louise Galvin has been added to the matchday 23,  looking to add to her three previous 15s caps.

Speaking ahead of the his sides round 4 clash against Scotland, Griggs said: “We came away with a good win against Wales and there are some huge positives to come out of that. We are in a good place going into the final two games.

“I’ve no doubt Scotland will be looking to push us hard on Sunday afternoon. If we replicate our last performance, get the small things right, I am confident we will have a successful outcome.”

IRELAND WOMEN’S Team v Scotland Women, 2018 Womens Six Nations Championship, Donnybrook, Sunday, March 11, kick-off 1pm):

15. Kim Flood (Railway Union/Leinster)
14. Megan Williams (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
13. Katie Fitzhenry (Blackrock/Leinster)
12. Sene Naoupu (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
11. Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
10. Niamh Briggs (UL Bohemians/Munster)
9. Ailsa Hughes (Railway Union/Leinster)
1. Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/Leinster)
2. Cliodhna Moloney (Railway Union/Leinster)
3. Leah Lyons (Highfield/Munster)
4. Aoife McDermott (Railway Union/Leinster)
5. Orla Fitzsimons (St. Mary’s/Leinster)

6. Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemians/Munster) (capt)
7. Claire Molloy (Bristol)
8. Paula Fitzpatrick (St. Mary’s/Leinster)


16. Ciara O’Connor (Galwegians/Connacht)
17. Laura Feely (Galwegians/Connacht)
18. Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemians/Munster)
19. Ashleigh Baxter (Cooke/Ulster)
20. Edel McMahon (Galwegians/Connacht)
21. Nicole Cronin (UL Bohemians/Munster)
22. Michelle Claffey (Blackrock/Leinster)
23. Louise Galvin (UL Bohemians/Munster)

Social Sharing

Posted in

Emma Needham

LISTEN: The Breakdown EP75 with Sporting Limerick & Three Red Kings

We look ahead to Munster's trip to Castres with van Graan's side knowing a win will see them ...
Read More

WATCH: Stander recalls past struggles in Europe ahead of Castres trip

Much has been made about Munster's inability to get a bonus point against Castres in Thomond Park last ...
Read More

Joey Carbery returns as Johann van Graan announces side for Castres

The Munster team has been named for Saturday’s Champions Cup clash away to French champions Castres Olympique at ...
Read More

Several All-Limerick pairings as Munster Senior & Junior Schools Cup draw made

The draw for the first and quarter-final rounds of the Clayton Hotels Munster Schools Senior and Junior Cup ...
Read More

WATCH: van Graan says discipline will be key come Saturday

Johann van Graan brings his Munster side to Castres this Saturday with his side in a very good ...
Read More

WATCH: CJ Stander wary of Castres backlash “It’s a difficult place to play”

Munster travel to Castres this Saturday after comprehensively overcoming the French side in Thomond Park last Sunday. Munster ...
Read More

LISTEN: Crescent College and St Munchins to meet in Schools Charity Cup Final

Crescent College Comprehensive and St. Munchins College will compete in the Charity Cup final tomorrow at the Markets ...
Read More

WATCH: Conor Murray looking to halt Castres momentum in France

Akin to the Munster sides in the first decade of the 2000's who's gameplam relied heavily on a ...
Read More