Limerick already heavy favourites for five in a row while Gillane remains HOTY front runner

Paddy Power has Limerick at 4/6 to win a sixth title in seven years in 2024 with Kilkenny the nearest challengers having lost back to back finals.

The dust may yet not have fully settled on the 2023 All-Ireland senior hurling championship but already the bookies have installed Limerick as the heavy favourites to retain their crown.

Should John Kiely’s men do so, then they will become the first ever team to claim a five-in-a-row as they matched the achievements of Kilkenny and Cork who won four on the trot.

Paddy Power has Limerick at 4/6 to win a sixth title in seven years in 2024 with Kilkenny the nearest challengers at 13/2. The Cats have lost successive finals to the Shannonsiders and are without a title since 2015.

Galway (17/2) are third in the list, level with Cork who didn’t make it out of Munster this term. Tipperary (11/1) are next, the same price as Clare who were beaten in back to back provincial finals by Limerick and All-Ireland semis against the Tribesmen.

There is a jump then to Waterford (28/1) and then again to Wexford (50/1)

2024 All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Odds

  • Limerick 4/6
  • Kilkenny 13/2
  • Galway 17/2
  • Cork 17/2
  • Clare 11/1
  • Tipperary 11/1
  • Waterford 28/1
  • Wexford 50/1
  • Dublin 80/1
  • Antrim 40/1
  • Carlow 1000/1

2023 HOTY Odds

Meanwhile Aaron Gillane (1/4) is still the front runner for the Hurler of the Year award and would become the third successive Patrickswell man to collect the gong.

8 July 2023; Aaron Gillane of Limerick celebrates after scoring his side’s first goal during the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Senior Championship semi-final match between Limerick and Galway at Croke Park in Dublin. Photo by Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile

Kyle Hayes, who was named the Sunday Game HOTY has jumped into second in the odds at 3/1 with last years winner Diarmaid Byrnes back on 12/1.

Eoin Cody, who was second in the list prior to the final drops to 16/1, the same price as teammate Huw Lawlor.

Darragh O’Donovan, Shane O’Donnell and TJ Reid can all be got at 33/1.

2023 Hurler of the Year Odds

  • Aaron Gillane 1/4
  • Kyle Hayes 3/1
  • Diarmaid Byrnes 12/1
  • Eoin Cody 16/1
  • Huw Lawlor 16/1
  • Darragh O’Donovan 33/1
  • TJ Reid 33/1
  • Shane O’Donnell 33/1

The award will be revealed at the All-Star banquet later in the year.

GAA coverage on Sporting Limerick is brought to you in association with Noels Menswear, shop online here or visit in Dooradoyle, Limerick City or Newcastle West.

Social Sharing

Posted in

Champions Limerick bow out to red hot Rebels

Limerick 0-29Cork 1-28By Tom Clancy at Croke ParkLimerick's most remarkable run ended after a narrow, two-point loss, after ...
Read More

TEAM: Limerick make two changes to side to face Cork

John Kiely and his backroom team have made two changes from the starting XV that faced Clare in ...
Read More

Kingston Promises Intensity from “The Minute the Ball is in Play Right to the Very End”

For Shane Kingston and his Cork teammates, the journey to this point had been anything but straightforward, marked ...
Read More

Hannon on Success & Setbacks as Limerick Look Forward to Rebel Rematch

Limerick will do battle with a familiar foe in Cork this weekend as all roads lead to Croke ...
Read More

Hegarty: ‘There is a lot more to life outside of hurling”

In association with Bord Gais Energy. With six Munster and five All Ireland medals to his name, Gearóid ...
Read More

Sligo a bridge too far for Limerick as Tailteann dream ends

Sligo 2-20Limerick 0-9By Tom Clancy in Markievicz ParkLimerick’s hopes of a trip to Croke Park were wiped away ...
Read More

WATCH | Kiely, Gillane & O’Neill react after historic Munster SHC victory

Limerick made more history when claiming a record breaking sixth Munster Senior Hurling title in a row, thanks ...
Read More

Six of the best – Limerick claim record breaking Munster title

Limerick 1-26Clare 1-20By Tom Clancy in ThurlesLimerick made more history when claiming a record breaking sixth Munster Senior ...
Read More