Limerick County win Kennedy Cup Trophy on Final Day

Limerick County Schoolboy League won the Kennedy Cup Trophy on the final of the Kennedy Cup at the University of Limerick on Saturday morning. Limerick District Schoolboy League were defeated in the Kennedy Cup Bowl Final.

Limerick County saved one of their better performances until last against West Waterford East Cork as they dominated the game from start to finish in a 1-0 victory.

In a bright opening, Hugh Murnane evaded the challenges of two opponents before setting up his strike partner Jake McNamara-Leamy but his shot was saved.

McNamara-Leamy was adamant to shoot on sight and was afforded another opportunity when Patrick Downey played the ball over the top in his direction but the lively striker’s effort was palmed away.

Five minutes before half time, County took a deserved lead when Hugh Murnane chipped the advancing goalkeeper when under pressure from two defenders, much to the delight of the vocal ‘home’ support.

There was no double celebrations for Limerick sides as Limerick District League were beaten 2-1 by Cork Schoolboy League on pitch 2 in the Kennedy Bowl Final. Limerick goalkeeper Luke Carmody pulled off a great save from a Conor Shirkie strike as Cork asserted their dominance in the first half.

Just before half-time, Sam Browne was sent through but his effort was saved by the legs of the Cork goalkeeper Ryan Delaney. The Cork outfit opened the scoring in the second half when Harvey Skieters headed home from an Eric Cunningham cross.

Cork were awarded a penalty when Skieters was brought down for a spot kick which Skieters duly dispatched to put hand on the trophy for the Rebel County.

As full time approached, Limerick pulled a goal back and ensured a nervy finish when Darren Nwakwo powerfully headed home from a free-kick. However, there was not enough time for Noel OConnor’s men to exert extra pressure to force an equaliser. The result means that the District League finished tenth in this years competition after just one defeat in six games.

Limerick County: Luiz De Freitas Almeida, Cathal Kearns, Sean Carroll, Bailey Ryan, Tristan Stokes, Shane Ryan, Aaron Moffat, Michael Ryan, Patrick Downey, Hugh Murnane, Jake McNamara-Leamy

Substitutes: Cody Kok, David Moloney, James O’Sullivan, Tadgh Hourigan, DJ O’Callaghan-Collins, Daragh Enright, Jamie Kriby, Callum Murphy, Donnacha Hogan,

Limerick District: Luke Carmody, Jamie Young, Jai McNamara, Darren Nwawkwo, Arron Hough, Matthew Te Pau, Josh McCarthy, Stephen Young, Colm Lenihan, Sam Browne, Nathan O’Shea

Substitutes: Donnacha O’Grady, Raphael Junior, Shane O’Gorman, Aaron Coleman, Matthew Carroll, Leon Johnson, Rian O’Halloran, Sean O’hAodha, Mark Forde

Social Sharing

Posted in

Limerick District League Premier Division round-up

Fairview Rangers and Regional United maintained their 100% records at the start of the Limerick District League Premier ...
Read More

WATCH: Barrett “We need to do more to attract crowds”

Limerick FC manager Tommy Barrett cut a frustrated figure after his side's 1-1 draw with Athlone Town on ...
Read More

Back to league duty for Super Blues after cup victory

Limerick FC welcome Athlone Town to the Markets Field tonight in what will be the club’s second last ...
Read More

Fairview and Regional earn victories in Limerick Premier Division

Fairview Rangers picked up a comprehensive victory over newly promoted Mungret Regional on Thursday evening in the Limerick ...
Read More

LISTEN: Williams “not worried about scoreline, just getting 3 points”

New Pike Rovers manager Robbie Williams was very happy with his side's performance in the 6-1 thrashing of ...
Read More

Pike earn Massive Victory as Premier Season Continues

Pike Rovers picked up a massive victory over last season's champions Janesboro as the Hoops ran out 6-1 ...
Read More

WATCH: O’Donoghue confident of Regional re-building project

Regional United manager Shane O'Donoghue believes that the current squad can bounce back from losing some high profile ...
Read More

WATCH: Spillane Ready to lead Coonagh into First top Flight Season

Coonagh United enter their first season as a Limerick District League Premier Division club in 2019/2020 following last ...
Read More