Limerick duo nominated for Hurler of the Year Award

It is a first time nomination from both who were named on the All-Star team in 2021.

Limerick defensive duo Barry Nash and Diaramid Byrnes have both been included in the three-man shortlist for the 2022 PwC Hurler of the Year. They are named alongside Kilkenny’s TJ Reid.

Nash and Byrnes are two of Limerick’s twelve nominated for All-Stars with the 45-man nomination list released this morning.

Last year, three Limerick men made up the shortlist as Cian Lynch beat out Sean Finn and Kyle Hayes.

Byrnes will be hoping to replicate his club mate Lynch, who is just the second ever two-time winner of the award alongside Henry Shefflin.

The wing-back is the bookies favourite and was also named as the Player of the Year by the Sunday Game in the wake of Limerick’s three-in-a-row success.

Byrnes also shattered the record for most point scored by a defender in a single championship campaign as he plundered over 0-36 across seven outings.

23 April 2022; Diarmaid Byrnes of Limerick during the Munster GAA Hurling Senior Championship Round 2 match between Limerick and Waterford at TUS Gaelic Grounds in Limerick. Photo by Stephen McCarthy/Sportsfile

Barry Nash was a pillar of strength in the Limerick full back line as he continues to revolutionise the game. he kicked off his year with a brace of points from play against Cork and didn’t relent throughout the summer, dovetailing his defensive duties with his attacking flair.

The South Liberties man picked up a maiden All-Star last year and is certain to add to that this time around.

2015 Hurler of the Year TJ Reid completes the shortlist following another incredible year from one of the games all-time greats. The Ballyhale man finished as the leading scorer with 2-65 as he just missed out on a sixth All-Ireland title.

In three of the last four years, the Hurler of the Year has come from John Kiely’s squad with Cian Lynch becoming Limerick’s first in 2018. Gearoid Hegarty was honoured in 2020 with Lynch doubling his tally last year.

The Hurler of the Year, as well as the Hurling Team of the Year will be announced live from the All-Stars banquet in Dublin’s Convention Centre on RTE on Friday 28 October.

Social Sharing

Posted in

Clare secure valuable draw with Limerick following late flurry in Munster U20 Championship

English gave Limerick their first lead as the opening half drew to a close, collecting a dropped Con ...
Read More

Pairc Ui Chaoimh confirmed as venue for National Hurling League final

Both sides were relatively comfortable in their semi-final victories over the weekend, beating the previously unbeaten Tipperary and ...
Read More

Goals key as Limerick edge past Clare to secure consecutive Minor Hurling wins

Limerick 2-20Clare 0-22By Tom Clancy at TUS Gaelic GroundsA goal at the beginning of either half propelled Limerick ...
Read More

PREVIEW | Limerick continue Munster U20 Hurling C’Ship defence against neighbours Clare

Diarmuid Mullins has made just one change to his side to take on Clare with Monaleen midfielder Joseph ...
Read More

Lynch & Casey back to their best, Shades of 2021, All-Ireland rematch & More | Talking Points as Limerick reach League final

Following an interesting weekend of action, we look at the key points to emerge from the League semi-finals, ...
Read More

“We just want to keep improving week to week” | John Kiely clear on his focus as League final awaits Limerick

Limerick's reward for the victory is a place in the league final for the first time in three ...
Read More

Cian Lynch voted Hurler of the Week

The Limerick centre-forward picked off a score in either half and was a key part of everything the ...
Read More

Diarmuid Mullins makes one change to Limerick U20 team to face Clare

Elsewhere it is as it was in the Fraher Field as Limerick seek a sixth successive Munster championship ...
Read More