Limerick equal All-Star record with nine awards as Hegarty claims Hurler of the Year gong

Limerick cleaned up at this years All-Stars Awards as they claimed nine places on the 2020 Hurling Team of the Year.

The Shannonsiders’ haul of nine equals the record set by Kilkenny in 1983, 2000 and 2008.

All-Ireland finalists Waterford have three chosen, while Galway, Kilkenny and Clare all have one player among the XV.

Gearoid Hegarty was also named as Hurler of the Year and becomes only the second Limerick player to do so, after Cian Lynch in 2018.

13 December 2020; Tom Morrissey, left, and Gearóid Hegarty of Limerick celebrate following the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Senior Championship Final match between Limerick and Waterford at Croke Park in Dublin. Photo by Ramsey Cardy/Sportsfile

In goals, Nickie Quaid earns a first award after a stellar season.

Sean Finn becomes only the fourth Limerick player to ever win three-in-a-row as he is selected at number two once more. Alongside him, Dan Morrissey added his second , this time at full back after winning an award at wing-back in 2018.

Diarmaid Byrnes and Kyle Hayes are both selected for the first time in the half-back line.

Limerick’s All-Ireland final half-forward line is selected in full with Hegarty, Cian Lynch and Tom Morrissey chosen.

In the full forward line Aaron Gillane picks up his second award on the bounce.

2020 Pwc GPA/GAA All-Star Hurling Team

  1. Nickie Quiad
  2. Sean Finn
  3. Dan Morrissey
  4. Daithi Burke
  5. Diarmaid Byrnes
  6. Tadhg de Burca
  7. Kyle Hayes
  8. Jamie Barron
  9. Tony Kelly
  10. Gearoid Hegarty
  11. Cian Lynch
  12. Tom Morrissey
  13. Stephen Bennett
  14. TJ Reid
  15. Aaron Gillane

Social Sharing

Posted in

On This Day: Footballers lose League outing with Clare and UL contest Fitzgibbon Cup finals in 2015 and 11′

February 28 On this day in 2016, Limerick lost out to Clare in the National Football League. The ...
Read More

On This Day: Mary I claim maiden Fitzgibbon Cup, Ardscoil Rís retain Harty Cup & More!

February 27 On this day five years ago, Mary I picked up a first ever Fitzgibbon title as ...
Read More

On This Day: U20’s fall to Kerry in Munster as Mary I overcome LIT in Fitzgibbon Cup semi-final

February 26 On this day last year, the Limerick U20 footballers fell to defeat against Kerry in the ...
Read More

Munster GAA Post Primary Schools Season Cancelled

Following recent announcements regarding Level 5 restrictions, Comhairle Iar-Bhunscoileanna na Mumhan has made the decision to cancel all ...
Read More

John Horan ‘confident’ all competitions will be played in 2021

Outgoing GAA president John Horan is ‘confident’ that the organisation will be able to complete a full-fixture list ...
Read More

On This Day: Mixed results for the Hurlers as UL claim Fitzgibbon Cup honours

February 24 On this day two years ago, Limerick fell to Cork in the National Hurling League but ...
Read More

Record Breakers: A look at the numbers behind Limerick’s incredible 2020

While 2020 will hardly be looked back upon too fondly by many, in GAA terms, the year belonged ...
Read More

LISTEN: Cian Lynch speaks about maintaining skill level during the lockdown

With the GAA season suspended indefinitely, uncertainty surrounds the organisation with players unable to return to training for ...
Read More