Limerick FC narrowly lose out to Drogheda United

Drogheda United picked up a hard fought 3-2 win over Limerick FC at United Park on Friday night.

Captain Sean Brennan scored a hattrick including two penalties after Darren Murphy had equalised from the penalty spot for Limerick. Adam Foley flicked in a Shane Tracy corner to ensure a nervous ending for the home side.

Tim Clancy’s side started brightly with two quickfire shots as both Jake Hyland and Chris Lyons were denied by a combination of Tomas O’Connor and Jack Brady.

The returning Karl O’Sullivan had Limerick’s first chance as his effort was beaten away by Luca Gratzer and Gallagher cleared before Kieran Hanlon could capitalise on the rebound.

Shortly afterwards, Drogheda took the lead as Sean Brennan pounced on a long ball from goalkeeper Gratzer and the midfielder headed over the onrushing Brady.

Approaching the hour mark, Limerick were awarded a penalty and their third penalty taker of the year, Darren Murphy, converted into the bottom corner to equalise. Drogheda United manager Tim Clancy was sent to the stands for his protests.

However, Drogheda were awarded a penalty just five minutes later due to a high footed challenge by Killian Brouder on Stephen Meaney. Brennan duly converted the penalty.

Less than five minutes later, the Boynesiders were awarded their second penalty of the game as Brouder was adjudged to have fouled Lyons. Brennan completed his hattrick with the resulting spot-kick.

With eight minutes remaining, Adam Foley scored his first senior for Limerick to put the pressure on their play off rivals. However, Limerick were unable to create another chance of note to equalise.

Drogheda leapfrog Limerick into fourth spot ahead of another tough trip for the Super Blues to Cobh Ramblers next weekend.

Drogheda United: Luca Gratzer, James Brown, Conor Kane, Luke Gallagher, Luke McNally, Jake Hyland, Mark Hughes, Sean Brennan, Mark Doyle, Chris Lyons, Stephen Meaney

Limerick FC: Jack Brady, Shaun Kelly, Killian Brouder, Tomas O’Connor, Lee Devitt, Darren Murphy, Shane Tracy, Karl O’Sullivan (Edmond O’Dwyer), Ger Barry (Adam Foley), Kieran Hanlon, Connor Ellis.

Subs not used: Tommy Holland, Colm Walsh-O’Loughlen

Yellow Cards: Karl O’Sullivan (40), Kieran Hanlon (60), Shane Tracy (70), Shaun Kelly (72), Lee Devitt

Social Sharing

Posted in

WATCH: Tommy Barrett: “we were full value for the win”

Limerick FC manager Tommy Barrett was pleased with his side's 1-0 victory over Cabinteely at the Markets Field ...
Read More

Limerick FC show great character to secure victory over Cabinteely

Limerick FC secured their second successive win with a well deserved 1-0 victory over Cabinteely at the Markets ...
Read More

Battling Blues take on table toppers Cabinteely

Limerick FC welcome leaders Cabinteely to the Markets Field on Friday night in the Airtricity League First Division ...
Read More

Pike Rovers treble dreams end with Munster Junior final heartache

Pike Rovers ambitions of landing three trophies this season were ended by St. Michaels in the Munster Junior ...
Read More

Gary Manning departs role at Limerick FC

Limerick under-19s manager Gary Manning has announced that he has left the club with immediate effect. Manning has ...
Read More

WATCH: Jan Molby coming to Limerick for Liverpools Legends game

Liverpool FC legend Jan Molby has revealed that he will manage the Liverpool Legends side to face Aisling ...
Read More

Aisling Annacotty announce main sponsor for Liverpool Legends match

Aisling Annacotty Football Club have announced that The Millhouse Bar and Grill will be the main sponsor of ...
Read More

LISTEN: Ryan praises Janesboro players following third league title

Janesboro Football Club were crowned PJ Matthews Premier League champions on Tuesday evening following a 0-2 away victory ...
Read More