Limerick ladies footballers suffer first loss of the year against Carlow

The Limerick ladies footballers succumbed to their first defeat of the League yesterday as they were beaten by a point, 4-4 to 2-9 by Carlow in Askeaton.

Limerick were without a number of players for the clash and will rue the concession of four goals.

Limerick opened the scoring within 90 seconds but would not add to their tally until injury time of the first half as they trailed 1-3 to 0-2 at the break.

Lauren Dwyer had her second goal of the game straight from the restart but Catriona Davis replied for Limerick dispatching a penalty to reduce the deficit to three once more.

Limerick had the next score to bring the sides to within a goal, but DAwyer would complete her hat trick on 39 minutes to leave the score at 3-3 to 1-3.

Limerick responded however and two frees from Catriona Davis reduced the gap. She was then sin binned but despite the numerical disadvantage, Limerick had another goal, this time courtesy of captain Cathy Mee from the penalty spot to leave the sides within one point.

Once again, Lauren Dwyer would extend the lead with her fourth goal of the game to push Carlow further ahead.

Limerick would have the final three scores of the game but couldnt find the equalizer as Carlow avenged their defeat to Limerick in the round robin phase of the All-Ireland last summer.

SCORERS: Limerick: Catriona Davis 1-5 (1-0p, 0-5f), Cathy Mee 1-0 (p), Mairead Kavanagh, Caroline Hickey, Katie Heelan and Kristy Carroll 0-1 each. Carlow: Laren Dwyer 4-1, Cliodhna Na She 0-3 (2f), Edel Hayden 0-1.

LIMERICK: Maire Lyons; Ciara Ryan, Sarah O’Sullivan, Kristine Reidy; Megan O’Shea, Olivia Giltenane, Cathy Mee; Loretta Hanley, Caroline Hickey; Cliona Na Cheallaigh, Mairead Kavanagh, Katie Heelan; Ava Hartigan, Catriona Davis, Andrew O’Sullivan. Subs: Kristy Carroll for Mairead Kavanagh (h-t), Eimear Kirby for Cliodhna Na Cheallaigh (45mins).

CARLOW: Niamh Hanley; Aoife Hayden, Anne Roche, Laura Corrigan; Maria Kinsella, Nuala Mohan, Ciara Mullins; Antoinette Dowling, Michelle Dermody; Niamh Forde, Edel Hayden, Allen Atkinson; Maria Hayden, Cliodhna Ni She, Lauren Dwyer. Subs: Rosin Byrne for Maria Hayden (28mins), Leah Mullins for Laura Corrigan (35mins), Laura Regan for Lauren Dwyer (59mins).

Social Sharing

Posted in

TG4 to broadcast the Limerick SHC clash between Na Piarsaigh and Kilmallock

Limerick Senior Hurling Championship is set to be televised on TG4 from July. TG4 confirmed on Friday that ...
Read More

No water carrier but water breaks as GAA reiterate new rules for return to play

Ahead of the return to championship action in the GAA from next week, the association have drawn up ...
Read More

Reeling in the Years: Limerick GAA’s 2017

Our Reeling in the Years of Limerick GAA continues today as we go back to 2017 as the ...
Read More

WATCH: South Liberties face Dromin Athlacca in the 2004 IHC Final

Tonight's Limerick GAA action from the Archives is the 2004 Limerick Intermediate Hurling Final between Dromin Athlacca and ...
Read More

WATCH: Adare and Patrickswell meet in the 2001 Limerick SHC Final

Tonight's Limerick GAA action from the archives is the 2001 Limerick Senior Hurling Final between Adare and Patrickswell. ...
Read More

Reeling in the Years: Limerick GAA’s 2016

Our Reeling in the Years of Limerick GAA continues today as we go back to 2016 as the ...
Read More

WATCH: 2000 Intermediate Football final between Gerald Griffins and Croom

Tonight's Limerick GAA action from the Archives is the 2000 Intermediate Clash between Gerald Griffins and Croom. Who ...
Read More

WATCH: 2010 All-Ireland Junior B Hurling Final between Rathkeale and St Martins

Monday night's GAA action from the Archive's is the 2010 All-Ireland Junior B Hurling final between Rathkeale and ...
Read More