Limerick Ladies secure inaugural U14 Silver All-Ireland Football Championship

After winning the All-Ireland C titles in 2014 and 2015, Limerick won the inaugural U14 Silver All-Ireland championship after a dominant performance against Tipperary at St Rynagh’s Park in Banagher.

Goals from Aoibhin Murphy, Michaela Cumes and Áine Cleary would prove crucial for Limerick in the final.

Despite some poor conditions, the two Munster sides put on a strong exhibition of football with Limerick’s strong running style paying dividends.

Limerick had the advantage of the stiff breeze in the opening period, but it was Tipperary who opened the scoring when Ciara O’Hora pointed a free for her side in the seventh minute.

From that moment on Limerick dominated the first-half action. Both sides operated with two players in the full-forward line, which meant there was a lot of space for both attacks to operate in, but it was Limerick’s Murphy who shone brightest with a personal tally of 1-6.

On eight minutes, Murphy got her first point to level proceedings, while five minutes later a quickly taken free from the bright Leah Quane set Lucy O’Brien up for the lead score.

Both sides were guilty of kicking wides as the wind picked up, but Limerick added to their lead when Maeve Heenan picked out Caoimhe Smith with a long delivery and Murphy popped up to give her side a 0-3 to 0-1 lead.

Six minutes from the interval, Limerick got the goal their dominance deserved when Murphy stole possession close to goal and fired smartly to the net, but in first-half added-time O’Hora closed the gap with a free for Tipperary.

Limerick were 1-3 to 0-2 clear at the break, and they soon built on that lead with Caoimhe MacNamara and Murphy on target, before goals from Cleary and Cumes put them 3-6 to 0-2 clear by the 38th minute.

A Nicole Delaney point for Tipp and some excellent defending from Emer Roche and a Muireann Treacy save kept them in touch, but it was fitting that Murphy rounded off the scoring with the final two points.

Scorers – Limerick: A Murphy 1-6, M Cumes 1-0, A Cleary 1-0, L O’Brien 0-2, C Smith 0-1 (1f), C MacNamara 0-1.

Tipperary: C O’Hora 0-2 (2f), H Cleere 0-1, K Hanrahan 0-1 (1f), N Delaney 0-1.

Limerick: L O’Donnell; R Fitzgibbon, C Kiely (c), S McGuinness; C Ryan, K Feasy, R Flaherty; O Ryan, L Quane; M Heenan, L O’Brien, A Murphy; M Cumes, C Smith, C MacNamara.

Subs used: A Cleary, G Purcell, M Cagney, L Geary, C McAuliffe, A Cullinane, O Meehan, G Leaden, C Ryan, C Neenan, L Madden, A Neville.

Tipperary: M Treacy; N Hayes, S Ryan, A O’Farrell; A Column, MA Fitzgerald, E Cremins; N Devaney, C Molloy Hickey; C O’Hora, H Cleere, A Ryan (c); K O’Connor, E Sumner, G Fitzpatrick Ryan.

Subs used: E Roche, A McCormack, K Carr, H Brennan, E Slattery, C Shelly, L Murphy, K Hanrahan, A O’Brien, E Dwan, C Shelly, A Carew.

Social Sharing

Posted in

REVIEW: Limerick SHC, PIHC, IHC & JAHC Second Round Review

The Second round of the Limerick SHC, PIHC, IHC and JAHC took place over the weekend with 23 ...
Read More

Adare and Doon play out entertaining SHC draw

Adare and Doon could not be separated at the LIT Gaelic Grounds as their Bon Secours Hospital Limerick ...
Read More

Limerick GAA TV: Second Round games this weekend

This weekend there are three more games available to watch on Limerick GAA TV. After three live games ...
Read More

Treaty Talk EP106: Senior, Premier Intermediate and Intermediate 2nd Round Preview

In this week's podcast, Jack Neville and Matt O'Callaghan look ahead to this weekend's Limerick GAA action with ...
Read More

WATCH: Doon and Adare managers ready for winner takes all clash in SHC

Tonight Adare and Doon kick off the weekend's hurling action when they meet in the second round of ...
Read More

Limerick SHC & PIHC Round 2 Previews

After an eventful start to the Limerick Senior and Premier INtermediate Hurling Championships last weekend, Round 2 begins ...
Read More

Hurling For Cancer Research 2020 goes virtual

Due to Covid-19, Hurling For Cancer Research, the annual charity hurling match between a host of racing, GAA, ...
Read More

Reeling in the Years: Limerick GAA’s 2019:

Our Reeling in the Years of Limerick GAA concludes today as we look back on last year where ...
Read More