Limerick Minor footballers win Daryl Darcy Cup with Tipp Triumph

Limerick 1-9
Tipperary 1-6

By Tom Clancy in Mallow

Limerick won their first Daryl Darcy Cup title thanks to a late goal from Darragh Hogan to snatch victory over Tipperary in Mallow. In a trilling contest, Limerick shaded the contest, which was as a result of the group phase involving these two counties, as well as Clare and Waterford.

Limerick played against the breeze in the opening half, and conceded the first two scores to a Tadhg Whyte free and a curling effort from Liam Freaney.

The Premier had won the group clash in Rathkeale but Limerick recovered to defeat Clare and Waterford.

Despite this, the Treaty kicked the next six scorers, with six players on target. Cathal Woulfe, Padraic Murphy and Cian Costello helped Limerick level and ahead before Andrew Lyons (free) Callum Buckley and Adam Murphy all got in on the scoring act.

This was by the 16th minute and despite not registering another score for the remainder of the half, John Ryan’s men led 0-6 to 0-4 at half-time. Jamie O’Keefe cutting the deficit for Tipperary right at the end of the half.

Tadhg Whyte drew a fine save from Sam Guerin on 33 minutes. But the Kildimo Pallaskenry was beaten by a thunderous shot three minutes later, when sub Charlie Grace cut in from the wing and blasted to the net.

But despite trailing for most of the half, Limerick came up with the killer blow, a Darragh Hogan goal on 58 minutes, after Evan Curry saw his shot saved by Peter Boland.

There was an extra point to seal it, from sub Ronan O’Connell, which pushed Limerick three clear. They face Kerry in the Munster semi-final next week, as the Kingdom lost to Cork (2-18 to 0-14), Tipperary face the Rebels.

Scorers for Limerick: Darragh Hogan 1-0; Callum Buckley 0-2; Cathal Woulfe, Padraic Murphy, Cian Costello, Andrew Lyons (free), Adam Murphy, Evan Curry (free), Ronan O’Connell 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tipperary: Charlie Grace 1-1; Tadgh Whyte (free) 0-1, Liam Freaney 0-2, Jamie O’Keefe, Charlie Walsh 0-1 each.

Limerick: Sam Guerin; Cian O’Sullivan, Callum Buckley, Cian Costello; Liam Óg Glynn, Cathal Woulfe, Cillian Meade; Darragh Hogan, Evan Curry; Andrew Lyons, Padraic Phelan, Padraic Murphy.

Subs: Eoghan Beston for Lyons (41), Ronan O’Connell for A. Murphy (63), Rory Mullins for Hogan (63).

Tipperary: Peter Boland; Ronan Myles, Cillian Ryan, Shane Flanagan; Jamie O’Keefe, Billy Tierney ©, Michael Connellan; Michael O’Reilly, Sean Lewis; Louis Coughlan, Liam Freaney, Cillian Fahey; Joey Quinn, Tadhg Whyte, Mark Neville.

Subs: Shane Ryan for Fahey (ht), Charlie Grace for Neville (ht), Charlie Walsh for Whyte (48), Tom Ryan for Freaney (56)

Referee: James O’Regan (Cork)

GAA coverage on Sporting Limerick is brought to you in association with Noels Menswear, shop online here or visit in Dooradoyle, Limerick City or Newcastle West.

Social Sharing

Posted in ,

Two quarter-final berths remain to be filled in Limerick JAHC

The quarter-finals and relegation play-offs continued to take shape with still voids to be filled following a weather ...
Read More

Quarter-Final places up for grabs in IHC as weather wreaks havoc on final round | IHC Recap

Four of the final six spots in the Intermediate championship are confirmed with two games left to play ...
Read More

Effin book semi-final berth with four teams level on points in race for knockouts | PIHC Round Six Recap

In front of the Limerick GAA TV cameras, Effin moved clear at the top of the PIHC table ...
Read More

Lynch the hero as Mungret stave off Ballybrown to secure SHC promotion

Conor O'Brien never looked troubled in the Mungret net as O'Brien finished off their scoring with a superb ...
Read More

Senior, Intermediate and Junior Hurling Championship group stages conclude | Sunday Hurling Fixtures

In the senior championship, the standout tie pairs neighbours Mungret St Pauls and Ballybrown where the winners will ...
Read More

Doon edge Ahane to sneak into quarter-finals as Na Piarsaigh secure top spot | Saturday SHC Round Up

All six Group 1 teams were in action on Saturday evening, with wins for Doon, Na Piarsaigh and ...
Read More

Favourites clash and last quarter-final berth in SHC up for grabs | Saturday Hurling Fixtures

Nine games to choose from this Saturday with knockout berths up for grabs in the senior, premier intermediate ...
Read More

Ladies Senior and Intermediate championships down to the semi-final stage

Ballylanders await St Ailbe's in the first semi-final, while Oola will take on Monagea for a spot in ...
Read More