Limerick pair named on Irish Squad for U18 European Basketball Chmapionship

Ireland U18 men’s head coach, Paul Kelleher, has today announced his final roster of 12 players who will go on to represent Ireland at this year’s FIBA U18 Men’s European Championship Division B in Romania.

Speaking about the announcement, Coach Kelleher stated:

“This has been maybe the most difficult decision that I have had to make in 13 years of selecting national teams. There is a fantastic depth in this squad and while excited about our final 12, I’m also sad for the three players not selected. We have a wonderful group of players, and that is something to be excited about. We will prepare to a high level over the coming months, and we are excited about preparations and hopefully this will lead to a fruitful European Championships.”

The Ireland U18 men’s team won bronze in Division C last year and got promoted back to Division B for this summer’s Championships. The team will tip off the European Championships in Oradea, Romania, from July 26th to August 4th.

The selected players are:

CJ Fulton, Belfast Star, St. Malachy’s College, Belfast

Daire Kennelly, Tralee Imperials/Garvey’s Tralee Warriors, Mounthawk

David Lehane, Blue Demons, Gaelcholáiste Mhuire AG

James Connaire, Moycullen BC, St Joseph’s The Bish, Galway

Leeroy Odiahio, Tralee Imperials/Garvey’s Tralee Warriors, Mounthawk

Matthew Harper, Templeogue BC, Templeogue College

Nathan Moore, Limerick Lions/UL Sports Eagles, Cresent Comprehensive

Paul Kelly, Moycullen BC, St Paul’s Oughterard

Rapolas Buivydas, St. Brendan’s/Garvey’s Tralee Warriors, CBS The Green St. Mary’s

Ronan Cregan, Limerick Lions, Cresent Comprehensive

Sanmi Fajana, Myerscough College, Manchester

Tiernan Howe, Abbey Seals Dublin Lions, Coláiste Chiarain, Leixlip

Social Sharing

Posted in

Jack Neville