Limerick rivals UL and TUS Midwest do battle in Fitzgibbon Cup

The reigning champions can book their quarter-final berth with a win in Castletroy this evening.

Limerick colleges UL and TUS MidWest meet this evening in a mouthwatering Fitzgibbon Cup derby in group D of the competition. It marks the start of TUS’ campaign after UL defeated ATU Galway in their opener last week.

The defending champions will have home advantage where they know anything but a loss will ensure their progress to the knockout stages.

TUS can put one foot in the quarter-finals with a result but know a win next week at home to ATU Galway will be enough regardless of the result on Wednesday.

UL began their campaign last week with a comfortable 2-23 to 2-10 win over last year’s semi-finalists ATU Galway. Cathal O’Neill and Colin Coughlan were amongst the scorers for the defending champions who have retained a large portion of the 2022 winning side.

These sides were also paired in the group stages last year where UL dominated their rivals in a 5-30 to 0-14 demolition job. Mark Rodgers had a hat trick on the night and he remains as one of UL’s key men, raising a green flag next week. Gearoid O’Connor, the sides free taker had 0-12 last week and is one of five remaining forwards from the 2022 winning side.

UL have five Limerick players in their ranks in O’Neill, Coughlan, Adam English, Rory Duff and Mark Quinlan. TUS are the best represented in terms of Limerick men with six among their ranks. Kildimo Pallaskenry and Na Piarsaigh both have a pair on the Limerick side in the form of Cathal Downes, Shaun Barry (both KP), Marcus Hogan and Sean Long (both Nap). Ahane’s Kevin Morrissey and Murroe Boher’s Michael Ryan are also selected. Downes, who started the game against UL last year may be unavailable owing to his commitments with the senior footballers.

Yesterday, Mary I were beaten by three-points by DCU Dochas Eireann in Limerick which has put their chances of qualification in jeopardy, They must now hope the Dublin side beat Carlow next week by four points or more to see them into the last eight of the competition.

Elsewhere on Wednesday, last year’s finalists, University of Galway beat SETU Waterford to book their quarter-final berth. This evening, Maynooth take on UCD where a defeat will signal the end of their campaign.

Fitzgibbon Cup Second Round

Thursday January 26 (home team named first)

UL v TUS Midwest at 7pm

Maynooth University v UCD at 8pm

Social Sharing

Posted in

Limerick start minor campaign with narrow Waterford win in woeful conditions

Waterford 0-7Limerick 1-7By Tom Clancy in Fraher Field Limerick opened their Electric Ireland Munster Minor Hurling Championship with ...
Read More

“We had plenty of chances” | Mark Fitzgerald laments missed opportunities as Limerick are relegated

It was a first game in charge for Fitzgerald, with Ray Dempsey stepping down from the role just ...
Read More

Five Unsung Limerick U20s to Watch in Munster Hurling Championship

Who will be the next set of U20 players to lay down their markers as future Limerick hurling ...
Read More

Iris Kennelly selected on Ladies HEC Rising Star team for second season running

THE Yoplait HEC All-Stars and Rising Stars have been announced following the conclusion of the 2023 Championships. Limerick's ...
Read More

Diarmuid Mullins includes seven from last year’s final for Limerick’s Munster U20 Championship opener in Waterford

The squad contains eleven of the players that started in Limerick's Munster Minor Championship final win over Tipperary ...
Read More

TUS Gaelic Grounds to host Limerick’s NHL semi-final with Tipperary

Limerick secured their place in the knockout stages on Sunday with a straightforward win over Wexford with Kyle ...
Read More

PREVIEW | Limerick begin Munster Minor Hurling Championship with trip to Waterford

Limerick were last champions at the grade in 2020 with Adam English captaining the side to a second ...
Read More

Limerick duo named on the Hurling Team of the Week following Wexford win

Limerick are one of four counties with two players on the squad with Dublin, Kilkenny and Tipperary also ...
Read More