Limerick Schools know Harty opponents as 2017/2018 draw is announced

Limerick Schools now know Harty Cup opponents as 2017/2018 draw is announced.

The five Limerick schools who will compete in the blue ribband event for secondary school hurling in Munster – the Harty Cup – now know their group opponents for next year’s edition of the famous competition with the groups being made public in the match program at yesterday’s Munster Hurling Final at Semple Stadium.

The 16 team tournament for Munster Post Primary Schools Senior A Hurling Championship comprises four groups of four teams with the a round robin group phase and the top two from each group making it through to the quarter finals.

Cork and Limerick have the most teams with five each with Tipperary having three, Waterford having two and just the one from Clare.

The groups are as follows:

Group A

Midleton CBS, Ardscoil Ris, De La Salle Waterford, Charleville CBS.

Group B

Our Ladys Templemore, St Flannans Ennis, CBC Cork, Castletroy College.

Group C

St Colmans Fermoy, Colaiste Iosaef Kilmallock, Blackwater Lismore, John the Baptist Community School Hospital

Group D

Nenagh CBS, Scoil na Troinoide Naofa Doon, Thurles CBS, Gaelcolaiste Mhuire Cork.

With 4 groups and five Limerick teams, there was a guarantee of one local derby in the group stages. That honour goes to local rivals John the Baptist Community School Hospital and Kilmallock’s Colaiste Iosaef who are drawn together in Group C.

John the Baptist make the step up to the Harty having won the B title last season in what was a truly remarkable year for the school with St Colmans College Fermoy and Waterford’s Blackwater of Lismore making up the other two places in the group.

Ardscoil Ris will renew their rivalry with Midleton CBS in Group A. The two met at the quarter final stage and it took a replay and extra time to separate the sides before the Cork side finally advanced. Charleville who were also drawn in Ardscoil’s group last year and De La Salle are the final two teams.

All Ireland Champions Our Lady’s Templemore will face Castletroy College with St Flannans College and CBC Cork also drawn in Group B.

In Group D, Scoil Na Trionoide face both Thurles and Nenagh CBS schools with Cork side Gaelcholáiste Mhuire AG also taking part.

Fixtures will be confirmed at a later date with the first round of games set to take place in mid-October.


Social Sharing

Posted in

Quaid, Hayes and O’Donoghue all start as Limerick team named for Dublin showdown

O'Donoghue captains the side, the Na Piarsaigh man rekindling his relationship with Darragh O'Donovan in the middle of ...
Read More

Limerick fall to Sligo in Allianz Football League clash

Sligo headed in at the interval with a five point lead, which they would also hold when the ...
Read More

Limerick footballers unchanged for Sligo Allianz League visit

It means Newcastlewest man Iain Corbett captains the side once more, with a number of positional switches being ...
Read More

Mary Immaculate deny University of Limerick to reclaim Fitzgibbon crown

Mary Immaculate College 2-14University of Limerick 1-15 Mary Immaculate College claimed a third-ever Fitzgibbon Cup, at the expense ...
Read More

“We will be disappointed” | John Kiely speaks following tense Westmeath victory

It was a tense affair in TEG Cusack Park, with Westmeath arguably outworking the Shannonsiders, to the dismay ...
Read More

Ó Dálaigh goal key as sluggish Limerick get over Westmeath in hurling league

Westmeath 0-16Limerick 1-19By Tom Clancy in TEG Cusack ParkLimerick made it back-to-back victories, defeating Westmeath by six points ...
Read More

Youthful Limerick put on dominant Antrim display to kick off Allianz League

Dan Morrissey, Diarmaid Byrnes and Gearóid Hegarty all started in what was a youthful Limerick side, with David ...
Read More

Stoppage time heartbreak for Ardscoil Rís in Harty Cup final

There was stoppage time heart-break for Ardscoil Rís as they fell to St Joseph’s CBS Nenagh in the ...
Read More