Limerick U20 hurlers open campaign in Pairc Ui Rinn tonight

Managed by former Na Piarsaigh boss Paul Beary, the Limerick U20 hurling team begin their championship campaign tonight in Pairc Ui Rinn as they face Cork in the Munster Quarter-Final at 7.30pm.

A win for Limerick would see them face Clare in the LIT Gaelic Grounds next Wednesday in a Munster semi-final.

With a restructuring in age with the competition altered from U21 to U20 for this year, there is a completely new panel from the side last year thar were beaten by Tipperary in the Munster semi-final.

The team is captained by Adare’s Ronan Connolly who was part of John Kiely’s senior squad earlier this year.

Mikey O’Brien of Doon is vice-captain and is the only memeber of the squad currently in Kiely’s senior set-up.

Limerick were crowned Munster U21 champions in 2015 and 2017, going onto win the All-Ireland in each of those years.

No fewer than seventeen of the 2015 panel progressed on to win All-Ireland Senior medals in 2018 with a further four from the 2017 panel winning a Celtic Cross medal last August.

Sean Finn, Tom Morrissey and Cian Lynch all started the 2015 & 2017 All-Ireland U21 final, 2018 All-Ireland senior final and last Sunday’s Munster Final with the Limerick academy providing fruitful to the senior side in recent years.

The current panel is made up of 37-players from twenty different clubs. Mungret St Pauls lead the way in terms of representatives with five members of the panel.

Ahead of the Cork clash Beary has named his side for the quarter-final.

  1. Jason Gillane (Patrickswell)
  2. Conor Flahive (Mungret)
  3. Ciaran Barry (Ahane)
  4. Josh Considine (Patrickswell)
  5. Rory Duff (Mungret)
  6. Mikey O’Brien (Doon) – Vice Captain
  7. Michael O’Grady (Knockainey)
  8. Ronan Connolly (Adare) – Captain
  9. David Woulfe (Kilmallock)
  10. Paul O’Riordan (Bruff)
  11. Eoin Sheehan (Garryspillane)
  12. Jack Ryan (Doon)
  13. Mark McCarthy (Templeglantine)
  14. Dylan O’Shea (Garryspillane)
  15. Paul O’Brien (Mungret)

Subs: Daithi Heffernan (Mallow), Ken Byrnes (Old Christians), Calvin Carroll (Patrickswell), Padraic Heaney (Na Piarsaigh), Conor Helewell (Mungret), Emmet McEvoy (Na Piarsaigh), David Moloney (Monaleen), Conor Nicholas (Monaleen), Sean O’Connor (Granagh-Ballingarry).

Social Sharing

Posted in

Kiely Says Extra Preparation Welcome but Limerick “Must Make It Count”

Limerick manager John Kiely believes that the extra week preparation that his side have enjoyed could prove crucial ...
Read More

William O’Donoghue: Limerick are “as hungry as ever” for Success

With roles reversed from the 2018 All-Ireland final clash with Galway, Limerick come into Sunday's last four meeting ...
Read More

Bord Gáis Energy to raise funds for Focus Ireland with All-Ireland final Christmas jumpers

Bord Gáis Energy also announce details of their new television ad which will be released to coincide with ...
Read More

Morrissey not ‘reading too much’ into Limerick’s favourite tag ahead of Galway

Limerick and Galway meet this Sunday for the first time since the epic 2018 All-Ireland final with both ...
Read More

Limerick v Galway: Last Five Championship Clashes

Limerick face Galway in the All-Ireland semi-final this Sunday with a place in the December 13 final against ...
Read More

WATCH: Mixed News On Injury Front Ahead of Galway Clash

John Kiely this evening issued a squad update ahead of Sunday's All Ireland Semi Final against Galway and ...
Read More

James Owens To Referee Limerick v Galway Clash

Limerick take on Galway on Sunday afternoon in a re-run of the 2018 All Ireland Final but this ...
Read More

Criticism of Johnny Murphy is Unfounded & Unfair

When Limerick's premier referee Johnny Murphy was appointed as the man in the middle for last Saturday's All-Ireland ...
Read More