Limerick v Clare | Last Five Munster Hurling Championship Clashes

Limerick come into the clash seeking a second successive win after edging Waterford in the opening round while Clare were bested by Tipp

Old rivals renew acquaintances in the Munster Senior Hurling Championship this Saturday with Limerick meeting Clare in the second round of the 2023 edition.

It will be a repeat of their titanic Munster Final last year where extra-time was needed to separate the teams following another draw when they met in the group stage.

This time around, Limerick come into the clash seeking a second successive win after edging Waterford in the opening round while Clare were bested by Tipp on Sunday.

With so much on the line between the Shannonside neighbours, we look back on their five most recent championship encounters.

Clare 0-26 : 0-15 Limerick (Munster Hurling Championship

17 June 2018 at Ennis

Limerick missed out on a first Munster final since 2014 as they were overpowered by Clare in Ennis as the Banner moved into the Provincial decider with an eleven-point win.

After two wins and a draw from their first three games in the new round-robin Munster format, much was expected of Limerick who failed to fire against a determined Clare side in Ennis.

Clare had the first two scores of the day but after 20 there was just a point to separate the teams with Clare leading 0-5 to 0-4.

Both sides were reduced to 14-men after a half hour as Clare took a 0-13 to 0-9 lead into the dressing rooms.

Seamus Flanagan’s 36th minute effort had it back to 0-14 to 0-11 but this would be as good as it got for Kiely’s side as Clare outscored the visitors 0-12 to 0-4 down the home stretch to condemn Limerick to the preliminary quarter-final.

Please accept YouTube cookies to play this video. By accepting you will be accessing content from YouTube, a service provided by an external third party.

YouTube privacy policy

If you accept this notice, your choice will be saved and the page will refresh.

Just over two months later however, Limerick were crowned All-Ireland Champions.

Limerick 1-28 : 0-13 Clare (Munster Hurling Championship)

9 June 2019 in the Gaelic Grounds

With both sides season’s at stake after a couple of poor results for both teams in the round robin, the defending All-Ireland champions flexed their muscles to secure an 18-point win and first over Clare in four attempts.

Limerick imposed their dominance right from the start racing into a 0-5 to 0-1 lead.

Heading into half time the Treaty men stretched their lead out to eight points with all of their forwards on the scoresheet and William O’Donoghue and Declan Hannon adding some from further out the field.

Limerick’s defence was imperious on the day and when Aaron Gillane struck the back of the net on the hour mark, their lead was out to14.

In the end, the margin was 1-28 to 0-13 in Limerick’s favour as Clare bowed out of the championship.

Limerick 0-36 : 1-23 Clare (Munster Hurling Championship)

25 October 2020 in Semple Stadium

Limerick kicked off the defence of their Munster championship behind closed doors with a comprehensive victory over Clare in Semple Stadium.

Seventeen points from Tony Kelly did little to deter the Limerick juggernaut as Gearoid Hegarty kicked off his HOTY campaign with five from play.

It was tit for tat at the beginning with both sides trading scores and each assuming the lead at various stages. 

Tom Morrissey put Limerick three points up before the Banner men struck three more back leaving the score level at half time with 0-15 apiece.

Limerick hit the ground running on the restart and shot over six on the bounce to pull clear.

Clare responded with a Ryan Taylor goal after 46 minutes and with twenty to play, there was only two between the sides.

But from here Limerick put on the afterburners to storm to victory.

Limerick 1-21 : 0-24 Clare (Munster Hurling Championship)

May 15th 2022 in Ennis

Limerick maintained their unbeaten record in the Munster Senior Hurling Championship after a 1-21 to 0-24 draw with Clare that booked both sides place in the provincial final.

The two teams traded scores throughout the game with Kyle Hayes finding the back of the net on the fifteen minute mark.

Tony Kelly, hit the last of his 16 points just ten minutes into the second half but the teams were still level when Gearoid Hegarty was controversially sent off with ten to play.

But with a man down, Diarmuid Byrnes came to the teams rescue with his ninth point to draw the sides level for the 14th time in the game with time in the red.

Limerick 1-29 : 0-29 Clare (AET) (Munster Hurling Championship Final)

6 May 2022 in Semple Stadium

In their first Munster final meeting since 1995, Limerick needed extra-time to see off a spirited Banner side and claim their fourth successive provincial crown.

Tony Kelly ensured the additional twenty minutes with an incredible sideline in the dying embers but Limerick’s might proved too strong in extra-time.

Clare roared into the contest with the first three points of the game. Limerick battled back to level at 0-4 apiece with the sides going score for score therein.

The teams were level 14 times throughout the contest with Gearoid Hegarty restoring parity in there 27th minute, finishing an incredible goal.

It remained level to the half at 1-11 to 0-14. They would go blow for blow in the second half with Declan Hannon’s 72nd minute effort from inside his own half looking like the difference. Kelly replied immediately after with the teams level for the fourth successive half.

But Limerick had the first three scores of extra-time with William O’Donoghue then sealing the result with a point from the sideline in the final minute of the 90 to joyous scenes in Thurles.

GAA coverage on Sporting Limerick is brought to you in association with Noels Menswear, shop online here or visit in Dooradoyle, Limerick City or Newcastle West.

Social Sharing

Posted in

Sligo a bridge too far for Limerick as Tailteann dream ends

Sligo 2-20Limerick 0-9By Tom Clancy in Markievicz ParkLimerick’s hopes of a trip to Croke Park were wiped away ...
Read More

WATCH | Kiely, Gillane & O’Neill react after historic Munster SHC victory

Limerick made more history when claiming a record breaking sixth Munster Senior Hurling title in a row, thanks ...
Read More

Six of the best – Limerick claim record breaking Munster title

Limerick 1-26Clare 1-20By Tom Clancy in ThurlesLimerick made more history when claiming a record breaking sixth Munster Senior ...
Read More

Confident Limerick march over Tipperary with third straight victory

Tom Clancy in Rathkeale Limerick 1-18Tipperary 1-10Limerick advanced to the last eight of the Tailteann Cup for the ...
Read More

Limerick’s road to the Munster SHC final | RECAP

This set up a three-peat Munster final with Clare, in Thurles on June 9th, while Cork come through ...
Read More

Goals key again as Limerick advance in Tailteann Cup

Limerick 2-14London 0-10 Two first-half goals, in the dying embers of the opening thirty-five minutes were the platform ...
Read More

Limerick name side for London Tailteann Cup clash | TEAM NEWS

Iain Corbett captains the side at half-back, with Barry Coleman on the other flank and Cillian Fahy in ...
Read More

“We’re still here” | John Kiely defiant after booking Munster final spot

Kiely said he was "delighted" that his team's "average performance level is up," but conceded that his players ...
Read More